Arrowroot Powder

My parents went on a cruise recently and they were at some island in the Caribbean (no I can’t remember which one, I’m awful with names!) known for its spices. My mom sent me a text asking if I wanted any spices. “Um, heck yeah!” I love to bake. I enjoy cooking well enough and the thought of fresh spices to bake/cook with! Then not two seconds after that thought my mind goes to…can’t you guess? SOAP!!!

I started typing a return text with a list of all the spices I wanted, wracking my brain for all the spices I could remember off the top of my head that I wanted for soap making (my list was at home and at the time I was at work.) I vaguely remember reading something about arrowroot powder so I put it down…figured I could figure out exactly what it could be used for later.

When my parents returned home and gave me my spices it included this HUGE bottle of arrowroot powder! (See picture) Apparently my wonderful dad went into pharmacies and stores looking for it when they couldn’t find it in the spice market for me! Awwww. Thanks Dad! I figured since he went to all that effort to find me the powder I needed to figure out how I was going to use it!

Lots of Arrowroot!

So, out came the soap books…my fingers got busy searching the web and I found a fair amount of useful information! Questions I asked and found answers to:

What is Arrowroot Powder?

Arrowroot Powder: A natural powdered root starch that is white in color and very light in weight from the genus of plant Maranta arundinacea. Arrowroot powder is used as a thickening and stabilizing agent in food preparations, as a base for some of your body care formulations, and it is the main foundation for most body powders.

How can it be used in soap?

Arrowroot powder can be used for soap making as well as as one of the ingredients in your bath & body powders or all by itself as a soothing body & bath powder. Just add your own scent or leave unscented, and use as is.

I found this piece of information on a chat board (someone was writing about her experience) and I just thought it really interesting and I think I might try it next time I make a shaving soap!

I have horribly sensitive skin. Whenever I shave my legs, I get a rash. I added it to my base when I stumbled upon a soap recipe from a supplier. I never thought to add something like this to base. I have only used it in powders. Anyway, I sifted the arrowroot powder into my base. This is the same base that I have always used. No more rashes of any kind happened to me. I tried without it again to see if it was a fluke and it was not. I have used the same brand of razors too. I cannot explain why it helped me. It just did. My guess is that it is soothing, the same way that it is in a powder I guess. Perhaps it is just me, but I love the feel and the fact that for whatever reason, I have no rashes on my legs. Oatmeal never worked for me or other soothing agents for that matter. I noticed no difference in the lather or the razor glide. It is all about the apparent soothing affect that it has on my skin.

And lastly I found this recipe (which isn’t a soap bar…but I’m still really tempted to try!)

3 Responses to Arrowroot Powder

  1. Kristina Hess says:

    Wow! This stuff sounds awesome. I too have trouble with rashes after shaving so I would be interested in any items you put this in for that reason!!

    The Cleansing Jelly sounds really neat, I may have to look into trying it since it’s so simple..

  2. The Damsels says:

    I’m too lazy to sign out of this account and into my other so I’m posting this under my “Damsels” name :D

    I think I’m going to try some in my next shaving soap batch!

    It does sound neat (the cleansing jelly) doesn’t it! And it’s so simple to make (well at least it sounds simple enough :D)

  3. [...] a bar of soap meant just for shaving.  Now I can’t wait to try one of my bars that I put the arrowroot [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

