Baby Soap: The Process

Pictures of me making my Baby Soap recipe!  So first off, I FORGOT that I was going to take pictures until I’d already melted the oils *sigh* I know!  I know!  But I did remember before it was too late to take any pictures and I get get a picture of me using my new toy!

Soap: Baby Soap (gentle enough for baby’s skin and great for people with really sensitive skin)

Ingredients: Sweet Almond Oil, Sunflower Oil, Coconut Oil, Vegetable Fat, Beeswax and Carrot Seed Oil

Fragrance: None

Step 1: Weighed out the oils, water and lye.  Mixed the water and lye together and melted the oils.  Once the temperatures were equal it was time to mix the two liquids together.

Step 2: Dumped (normally I pour slowly as I mix, but since I was using the hand blender I just dumped) the water-lye mixture in with the oils.

Step 3: Mix the liquids together!  Using my new toy!

Step 4: Mix till I reach trace.

Step 5: Time to add the carrot seed oil into it.  Give it a good mix and then it’s ready to pour in the molds before it starts setting up on me.  This recipe had beeswax in it and I’ve come to find that any recipe with beeswax 1) the oils have never separated on me and 2) it’s reached trace pretty quickly.

Side note: Look at how white it is!  I added no color or fragrance!  I’ve never had a soap this white!  I kind of like it.  Looks nice a clean.

Note: The 8th mold that is only half filled and sloppy looking is my leftover…not enough to make a full bar.  This bar is usually my test bar :D  Nothing wrong with it, it’s just a smaller bar.

Step 6: Cover the soap with wax paper and then a couple weeks worth of newspapers to keep it insulated.

When I’m pouring a loaf (not individual molds like this one) I also cover it with a heavy blanket to help it go through the gel phase as it cures.  For this mold it would never really reach the gel phase so it didn’t bother covering it with a blanket.

A quick peak the next morning and the soap has solidified nicely!!!  I’m going to keep it covered and in the molds for 3 to 4 days.  I find that sometimes recipes with vegetable fat and beeswax in them tend to form soda ash on the top layer of the soap more easily than other bars.  If I leave them covered and in the molds I should be able to avoid that from happening.  Just going to be on the safe side.

They’ll need six weeks to cure now.  Then I’ll test out the “reject” bar and see how I think it works and I’ll probably want someone with a baby (after I’ve tested it and made sure all is fine) to test it too :)

3 Responses to Baby Soap: The Process

  1. Kristina Hess says:

    That looks great! And you make it seem kinda simple, I always figured it was a long process. What does the carrot seed oil do?

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s not “hard” (when you know what you’re doing and when things “go” right). It just takes a little bit of time. I left out the first half here where I was measuring all my oils and then I had to melt them (and then it’s the tricky game of getting your lye-water and oils to the same temp before mixing.) Usually it takes me about an hour to 2 hours (depending on the recipe) to make a batch of cold process soap.

    Carrot extract is basically there to help condition the skin (there’s only a small amount 1/2 tsp in a 1lb. recipe) but it adds some soothing and healing properties to the soap.

    Carrot Extract: Carrot Extract is high in vitamins A and E and beta carotene. It is an anti-inflammatory, soothing chapped and uncomfortable skin. It is thought to bring balance to the moisture in both skin and hair as a conditioning agent.

  3. Jennifer says:

    PS: Thanks :) So far the bars are looking nice too! They’re sooooo white! Which is uncommon (especially since I added no coloring pigment to them!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

