Sea Salt Foot Scrub!

This weekend I visited my best friend in North Carolina.  I enjoyed some warm weather (it actually felt like Spring!) I took a trip a historic plantation in Brattonsville, SC (satisfying the historical lover in me who loves to visit anything that has a history to it :)).  And I stayed up late gossiping and talking about anything and everything.  You think I’d be able to leave my soap behind for a weekend…but no, not me.  That was okay, cause Audry doesn’t mind my (slight) obsessiveness with soap and she was all for trying out two new recipes with me!  A sea salt foot scrub and a foot balm! Today’s post is about the sea salt scrub and be sure to check back tomorrow for a post (lots of pictures!) on the foot balm we made!

Ingredients: Dead sea salt, jojoba beads, jojoba oil, sweet almond oil, Vitamin E, and fragrance oil.

How to use: Soak your feet for a bit then rub a generous amount of the sea salt scrub on your feet and ankles.  Apply more pressure for a deeper exfoliation. Rinse off with hot water. Pat dry. (Then go use the foot balm!)

Pictures:

This was fairly easy to make.  We gathered all the ingredients, mixed them together, then added some fragrance oil and poured into pots.  A heavenly creation.  I’m so hooked it’s not even funny! (And this was after just one use!).  A side note: it does help if you measure your ingredients out CORRECTLY :D.  We added a little bit too much Sweet Almond Oil!  Not that it was the end of the world.  Sweet Almond oil is awesome stuff!

We add pink jojoba beads to this mixture, but really you can add whatever color you want (or that’s available).  We used White Citrus in this mix.  I LOVE the fragrance.  It’s perfect for this mix, but again the wonderful thing about this is you can alter the scrub to your own preferences.

For those that are wondering what the heck are jojoba beads?  And why did I add them?  Read on!

What are Jojoba Beads?

Jojoba Beads are exfoliants made out of Jojoba Esters. They are not meant to dissolve in water. Instead they are meant to be a little rough on the skin in soaps and scrubs for exfoliation purposes.  Jojoba beads are completely round and don’t scratch like other exfoliants can.

Jojoba beads are completely biodegradable and are a renewable resource.

Where can you use Jojoba Beads?

Jojoba beads can be added to liquid soaps, scrubs, and soap bars.

One Response to Sea Salt Foot Scrub!

  1. Emilie says:

    I love Brattonsville:) Mike and I went there with his parents on our first trip to SC, Thanksgiving 2005. We were dating and it was the first holiday I ever spent away from my parents. But Brattonsville turned out to be a really good place to take your future daughter-in-law the history buff:) Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

