My First Craft Fair

I survived my first craft fair, made a small (very small) profit, and learned A LOT! I’ve also got ideas for how to display my soap. I didn’t know what to do or how to do it this time, so I kind of went with that I had and I made it work, but I have definite ideas for future craft fairs and flea markets. My mom and I are going to go hit up some garage sales this summer in hopes that I can find a few pieces I’m looking for! Some stuff I’ll have to buy, but it’s an investment that will last and be worth it in the end.

My Cold Process Soap Table! I have ideas for a better layout and just a more pretty set up!

The day started at 6:30 AM. I was up and out of the house by 7 AM. I had to go to my parents. They were letting me borrow their tent and table and helping me set up and take down (Thank you Mom and Dad :)). We got everything packed up and in my parents van and were off to Worcester by 8:50. Got there, checked in, were assigned spot 113 and so began the setting up. We were done by 10:45-11ish so my mom and I (while Dad watched my soap) walked around to visit the other stalls. There where all sorts of wonderful artisans there! I counted 6 or 7 soap makers total. I paid close attention to what they all did and got some ideas from their displays and also realized how I could do things differently next time.

I knew I needed to sell at least 20 soaps to break even on the booth cost. My goal was to sell 40 soaps. If I did that I’d have broken even on the entire deal from soap costs, gas, banner and supplies. And I’m happy to say I surpassed 40! I was happy.

It was really interesting to see what most people were interested in and what people showed NO interest in. I didn’t sell a single lavender bar or lavender-vanilla bar and only one vanilla. The tangerine, lemon verbena, oatmeal milk & honey, cedar and saffron, and white peach and hibiscus were the most popular. The vanilla-pomegranate was also pretty popular.

In two weeks it’ll be time for my local flea market. That’ll be interesting to see how it goes. That one will be much less intense and a very different atmosphere seeing how it’s a local flea market and not a craft fair. However the town folks are pretty good about supporting their local businesses so I think it will be a fun day.

Then come July it’ll be time to sell my summer soaps and I am so happy with how they all turned out! I think they’ll be well received at the flea markets this summer. I can’t wait to get started on my Christmas soaps! I have to do some restocking, that’s my goal for June and come July it’ll be Christmas time for me :D At least me house will smell like Christmas time!

Soap set up with the description tags.

Juniper soap! I sold a couple soap dishes! I think the Apple n' Spice is going to be discontinued after I sell my last three bars. Not much of a demand for those or my apply blossom patchouli ones.

One Response to My First Craft Fair

  1. Michelina says:

    LOVE this! Great job! <3,Michelina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

