Almond Milk

The same recipe that called for silk also called for almond milk.  With soap you don’t want to use anything that has sugar or preservatives added to it.  That meant I needed to make my own almond milk.  It was actually a very easy process.

I used 1/2 cup of whole fresh raw almonds.  Soaked them in 1 1/2 cups of distilled water for about an hour and then blended them in the blender.

Almonds soaking in water.

Once they were pretty much pulverized I then dumped them into a strainer.

Nice and mixed!

After getting all the liquid out I was left with a lot of “mush” wish I’d know what I could do with it cause I hated throwing it out.

Draining the milk from the almond mush.

From there what I was left with was pure fresh almond milk, ready to be used in my soap!

And I have almond milk!

4 Responses to Almond Milk

  1. Kristina Hess says:

    Are the almonds soft/small enough that you could add them to a batch of soap? That would be neat if they wouldn’t be scratchy!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’d be afraid of the soap growing mold and they were really soggy more than anything else. Now that I know what went wrong with the recipe I’ll retry it. Just bummed that the first one didn’t work. Gotta finish restocking first. Then I’ll try it again before I start on Christmas soaps.

  3. I love making mine with a tsp of vanilla essence, pinch of salt and black dates to sweeten it up!

  4. jkabol says:

    you can use the remaining pulp for bread baking or baking cookies. you can also add it to your cereal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

