Soap Challenge #1: In the Pot Swirling

Amy over at Great Cakes Soapworks designed a series of weekly challenges for use soap makers all around the world!  The challenge for the first week was In the Pot Swirling.  You can check out more about the challenges here.  All are welcome to participate so come join us if you want!

I’ve done in the pot swirling many times before.  For me the challenge was to use one more color than I’d have have before.  Which I thought would be five colors, but when I went back and looked over all my past soaps I realized I’ve never tried it with more than three colors.  I’d attempted to do five one time but the fragrance oil I used thickened so fast that I ended up just plopping colors into the mold because it was too think to swirl.

So I went with four colors for this challenge, but then I thought wouldn’t it be fun to have embeds in the swirl?  I’ve done embeds.  And I’ve done swirling, but never the two together.  I had pink soap balls that I’d recently made and new they were going in this new soap.  I used purple, green, blue and yellow as my swirl colors.

After a little bit of thinking I had two ideas I wanted to try. This sketch was the start of the project. I'm typically a sketcher. I like to "see" my ideas and I'll sketch them out.

Then I thought it’s be cool to have a block of swirled soap embedded into a solid color.  And that’s how these two soaps came to be :).

Love the colors. They actually ended up a bit darker than I was going for, not as bright in the soap, but I still love them.

After I poured the loaf swirled batch with the embedded pink balls I poured the remaining mixture into individual square molds.  I wasn’t sure how the swirl would come out pouring into such a relatively small space, but it seems to have worked.  I think it looks cool.

From the outside they look like they've got a nice swirl. Hopefully when I cut them in the batch of soap they look just as cool!

Tuesday I cut the swirl soap with the pink ball embeds.  They’re so much fun!  I love how the soap looks.  It’s bright and cheery and pretty cool looking.

Look at those swirls! I love them. Especially since I thought my soap have thickened a little too much to give me the fine swirls that I got!

I also removed the square swirl soaps and made a new batch of soap that I colored pink (I have a slight obsession with Bramble Berry’s bubblegum pink if you haven’t noticed).  Then I embedded the swirled squares into the pink base.  I can’t decide which I like more.  The embedded squares I think are winning out!

I love how the squares swirled. I wasn't sure they come out too great (swirling such a small piece of soap but they've all got really cool swirls.

I couldn’t wait to cut the soap the next morning to see what I ended up with.  I think they look really cool!  I love trying to come up with something new and this challenge did.  Lots of fun!

And some more pictures…just because I took a bunch and couldn’t narrow them down!

Swirls and embeds - Bordeaux Blend Fragrance

So pretty!

I do love the color combination.

And there you have it. Challenge 1: In the Pot Swirl (with a twist)!

14 Responses to Soap Challenge #1: In the Pot Swirling

  1. elle says:

    Wahouw ! it’s very original, i love them .

  2. Traci R says:

    I love the embeds with the pink. Very cool!

  3. Dawn Briggs says:

    Just love the embedded soap you do a great job

  4. dawnio777 says:

    Love the embed soap, you always do a wonderful job

  5. WOW! I love the ones with the balls in on their own. Soo lovely, the colour just sings

  6. Kathy says:

    Very nice! Don’t know why but the colors remind me of eating watermelon in the summer somehow. Really like the embeds, especially how you did the square inside the pink.

  7. Katy says:

    The squares totally look like a Monet watercolor painting! So beautiful! What colorants did you use to get the blue, green, purple, and yellow?

  8. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Everyone! Katy, I used colors from The Conservatoire: https://theconservatorie.com/Mica-c-1_9_35.html

    I think I used violet, golden green, blue, and Lemon Drop.

  9. Carol says:

    I love them both!

  10. Pam says:

    So very pretty! You sketch is interesting to me as I wake up at night and scribble on a note pad. Your sketch is very neatly done! LOL

  11. cajunrose7 says:

    Wow!! What a great technique with the embeds!

  12. Perfect for Easter. So impressed with your talent

  13. Jennifer says:

    Thank you everyone for your kind comments! It was fun to make these!

  14. Michelle Holtzclaw says:

    They look like Starry Night – awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

