Soap Challenge #5: Essential Oil/Fragrance Oil Blends

I do not blend essential oils well—mainly because I have a picky nose. There are a lot of scents that I just don’t like and even more that I’m allergic too. I rarely use flower scents because most of them make me sick. And essential oils I find hard because they’re plant based and I tend to have the same problems as with flower fragrance oils. Some essentials oils all I need is a whiff of them to make me sick for the rest of the day. It makes creating essential oil blends hard. I do best with the fruit and spice scents so I tried to create a combination with those.

Awhile back I’d read the description of cassia essential oil and it intrigued me, so I bought a 3oz bottle of it.

Aromatic Scent: Cassia Essential Oil has a pungent, warm scent. Cassia contains 1% to 2% volatile oil (cassia oil), which is mainly responsible for the spicy aroma.

It didn’t smell like what I’d expect. It was much stronger than I’d expected (even though it’s said to be have a strong strength). And it didn’t have the spicy aroma I was expecting…maybe it does to others but I just don’t smell it. I started my blend of with this keeping in mind the follow characteristics cassia had:

Note: Top

Strength of Aroma: Strong

Blends well with: Benzoin, Clove Bud, Coriander, Cardamom, Frankincense, Ginger, Grapefruit, Lavender, Rosemary and Thyme.

I came up with the following essential oil blend for a 5lb batch of soap:

Cassia – 7/8 oz
Clove Bud – 7/8 oz
Ginger – 3/8 oz
Grapefruit – 1 oz
Lemon – ¼ oz

I’ve tried a variety of methods for creating blends and found that none of them ever help me really come up with a good ratio so I just kind of blend as I go now. I added an equal amount of clove bud in hopes that some of the spiciness I was initially expecting came through. The grapefruit and lemon I added to give it some fruit undertones.

I used this blend in a garden soap with pumice. I think it’ll work well for cleaning dirty garden hands as well as leaving a scent behind on the hands. Despite my blend the soap still just smells like cassia to me. Which isn’t a bad thing, but not what I was going for.

Since I was using an essential oil blend I stuck to natural colors. A very earthy feeling soap. It matches the fragrance and I think works fine for a hand soap.

5 Responses to Soap Challenge #5: Essential Oil/Fragrance Oil Blends

  1. Carol says:

    I am the same way- picky nose! I have trouble with a lot of floral and EO’s. Glad to know I’m not the only one. I love the way your soap looks!

  2. adorableamy says:

    Doesn’t it just stink when you buy something and then find out you don’t like it?? I’m the same way with ginger and fennel. I keep trying to find ways to add them to blends, but I haven’t found any that I really like yet. What does your famliy say about your soap? Have you had anyone else smell it? It LOOKS like a very nice gardener’s scrub!! :)

  3. Amy Warden says:

    Doesn’t it just stink when you buy something and just don’t like it?? I am the same way with ginger and fennel. I keep trying to come up with blends that I like and so far I’m not having any luck. Your soap LOOKS like a very nice gardener’s scrub! Have you had anyone else smell it?

  4. I love your soap, and your blend sounds really interesting. I have never tried cassia before, I always thought it might be a little fruity like blackberry? Anyway, I now might go out and try some. I chose to do a natural soap as well, and I’ve noticed that each day the blend is maturing more and more to the way I had imagined; maybe yours will too, x Linda

  5. Pam says:

    Thank you for sharing this about the Cassia. Your blend sounds like it might just cure out lovely. I hope in 4 weeks you will let us know.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

