Soap Challenge #6: Faux Funnel Pour

I’ve never tried this technique before.  Mainly because I don’t really like what it looks like.  I needed to restock on my lavender soap, so I decided to make my experiment this week with that soap.  This is one of my 100% All Natural soaps.  So I used rose clay and woad powder to color it.  And then left part natural.  I’m really frustrated the white part crumbled badly in the wire cutter.  This is the second time it’s happen.  I think it might be the EO and no colorant causing it.  Either way I’m annoyed…

Here are the results:

 

11 Responses to Soap Challenge #6: Faux Funnel Pour

  1. Traci R says:

    I think it looks nice. I like the darker red with the black.

  2. Carol says:

    I like it. Now you can check it off the list and say you’ve done it at least!

  3. Pam says:

    You’ve got the technique down and that was a challenge! Have you thought about cutting your bars 2 inches thick then splitting them horizontal? It gives a completely different look you might enjoy! Your colors are outstanding. Did you use td in the white? Sometimes it can cause trouble.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Traci and Carol! Pam, I thought about doing the 2″ cut…but didn’t. And I didn’t use td (cause I do have some issues at times with it and I wanted this to be all natural…so it’s really weird that the portion with a colorant is fine but the part with only EO, no colorant, goes wonky on me!)

  5. Marika says:

    I think it´s beautiful. My favourite colors: red, black and white.

  6. Amy Warden says:

    Well, they turned out great, regardless. Such an interesting phenomenon with the uncolored soap!! I can’t imagine what would cause that??? I have a feeling your customers are going to love the new look!

  7. In spite of you being annoyed with your soap, I think it’s really nice, and I like the naturalness of the colours. It’s crazy how soap evokes these emotions in us when it doesn’t turn out like we want, However, it will be a seller, I’m sure x Linda

  8. mijnzeep1 says:

    Really nice! I like the combinations of these colours!

  9. Eileen says:

    I like it. I tried cutting every way except the traditional ‘slicing of the loaf’ and I love that effect too. I’ve heard of woad powder, but am not sure what it is. Where did you get it?

  10. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Linda and Mignzeep1. Eileen, it’s a natural colorant. I get mine at Soap Making Resource: http://www.soap-making-resource.com/

  11. Even though you are annoyed with it, I think it turned out fabulously!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

