Soap Challenge #7: Gradient Soap

I have to say I LOVE how this soap came out.  As I was pouring it the layers all looked the same to me, but once I cut it I saw the gradation of colors and fell in love!  I’ve already got ideas to try this method again on future batches.  I made this batch in Juniper-Sage.  Happy soaper here this week!

I went a little overboard with the pictures I know… :D

I ended up taking these outside at 5pm on Friday. The weather has been dreary and overcast…but I managed to get pictures that showed the gradient and weren’t dark so I’m happy.

I’m so in love with this green!

More views :D

Ahhh this soap just makes me smile!

I’d previously made a batch of Juniper-Sage soap.  I used the same green, though the first batch it’s darker as it wasn’t diluted with white.  And I swirled the top portion.  I photographed the two together.

Juniper-Sage “Bug Soap”

And this was an attempt at a gradient from red to orange to yellow and it totally didn’t work.  The fragrance oil was dark and the pink/red just morphed and the yellow completely overtook the orange and didn’t really do a gradient.  I was going for a tropical drink.  The white chunks are supposed to be ice cubes.

Tropical Spice Drink

You will be seeing more soaps with gradients from me! I’ve fallen in love with the technique and I’ve already got three other batches planned that use the technique (with a new twist or element of course!) Here’s to seeing how they turn out. Stay tuned!

13 Responses to Soap Challenge #7: Gradient Soap

  1. Eileen says:

    I’m totally with you, I love this technique as well! You’re gradient looks seamless, I love it. And I really like the look and the texture of Tropical Spice Drink

  2. Pam says:

    Jennifer the pale green is an awesome color. Is it an oxide and the same as the darker green bar? Very lovely both!!

  3. Louisa says:

    I love how you have made the green gradient so seamless, absolutely beautiful. I also love the tropical spice drink, I am so into using foods to inspire soap.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks! I used a mica for the green. And it is the same green as I used on the solid green bar :) And yeah! I use food all the time to inspire soaps :D

  5. Suzy Whitten says:

    Green’s my favorite color, so I really love your gradient soaps ! Interesting how the same green can be so different…both are just beautiful.

  6. Amy Warden says:

    Very cool!!! I’m so glad you love this technique!! Even the one you think didn’t turn out still looks great. :)

  7. Really nice. I love both your bars. I also used green Micas for my soaps, and am so happy with the results too. I think you did a great job on the gradient , very smooth, x Linda

  8. mijnzeep1 says:

    I am also in love with that green….very nice soap!!!
    Natalia

  9. I love it! You did a great job on the gradient, it’s absolutely gorgeous.

  10. Amy says:

    Wow! That’s really stunning! Your gradient is so subtle and I love that green!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Natalia, Anne-Marie and Amy! I’ve already been experimenting with other colors! You’ll be seeing some more gradient pics in the near future!

  12. Jeanette says:

    yes you should be proud tThose are amazing!

  13. […] I was first introduce to this soap in Challenge #7 from Amy’s challenges over on Great Cake Soapworks.  You can find my post with pictures here: GREEN GRADIENT […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

