Soap Challenge #9: Peaked Tops

I’m back.  Yes I sat out last week.  I’ve made salt bars before and I’m just not a fan of them so I spent the week working on restocks I need of other soaps.

Now on to this week’s challenge!  Oh my word!  May I just say my soap was being difficult this week.  Every batch I made refused to get thick.  I finally got my Black-Raspberry & Vanilla batch to get thick enough for me to do some small peaked tops (note key word is “small” here).

The soap just wasn’t thick enough for it to hold the peaks.

I still like how this soap came out, even if the peaks aren’t prominent.

Probably one of the best bars of the entire batch (peak wise).

As you can see in the pictures I also layered this soap and embedded hearts in the top later…that made doing the peaks a bit more difficult too.  Overall I think it’s a cute soap and I’ll definitely keep the technique in mind for future batches.

Black Raspberry Vanilla :)

15 Responses to Soap Challenge #9: Peaked Tops

  1. Audry says:

    Peaks or not, these bars are lovely :-)

  2. Margo says:

    This soap is beautiful, I love your swirl and the colors are amazing. The hearts are adorable. I think you did a wonderful job.

  3. Amy Warden says:

    Beautiful all around!! Love the colors, the embeds, and yes – the textured top! Oh, and did I mention that’s one of my favorite scents?

  4. Sharon Phillips says:

    Very pretty! Love your colors and the swirls! Really nice!

  5. Wow, these are absolutely gorgeous, and my favourite fragrance of all time. How weird that I just made a soap with hearts in yesterday too. I think yours is just adorable. xx Linda

  6. Pam says:

    Stunning soaps and hey those are peaks yes! The swirl is so lovely with the contrast of colors and the darling embeds! Score!

  7. Suzy Whitten says:

    I just love the little hearts !!! I’ve never tried Black Raspberry Vanilla, but it seems to be a favorite of a lot of people, so I’ll add it to the wish list. Your purple is just beautiful, Jennifer!

  8. Carol says:

    The hearts are such a cute addition. Love it! I think everything turned out wonderful!

  9. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, this is a very cute soap, I lIke the colour, the insersions, the swirl. Lovely, lovely, lovely…
    Natalia

  10. Erica says:

    So cute! Love the hearts.

  11. Katy says:

    Great job, Jennifer! The tops turned out great, and I really like the embeds. Your colors and swirls are just beautiful! This is one of my favorite scents, too. How did you get those wave-like swirls in each layer? Do you mind sharing your technique? I totally want to try this! :)

  12. Jennifer Marie Hofmann says:

    Thank you everyone! Katy, I pour the first layer (purple) then I pour the second layer (white). I take a dowel (you can use different sizes) and pull the stick down and up moving through the the batch. Then I pour the third layer and do the same technique.

  13. Susan says:

    Great job, love the purple/lavender colors and swirls!

  14. Mia Berggren says:

    Absolutely love your soaps! Very inspirational. I will keep an eye on you!

    Mia
    New Zealand

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

