Soap Challenge #10: Landscape Soap

 

I had fun with these!  The first idea I had was to do a moon scape.  I made my moon (loved how it came out).  Then I wanted to use the gradient technique again.  I used a blue/periwinkle and a gray.  The gray overtook the blue (you can kind of see the gradient). If I do this again I’ll definitely cut down the gray and increase the periwinkle.  I think it will make a pretty soap!

Moon Scape

If you look you can see the gradient in the soap, but it’s not obvious.

This was take two.  I used a much lighter gray.  I’m not sure what I think.  Naturally I’m drawn toward the darker one, but I like this one too.  It just has a completely different feel to it.  More like dusk than deep night I guess.

There still isn’t the gradient I want between the blue and the gray…seems you get one then it just goes to the other, but overall still cool.

Version #2 of my Moonscape

Then I tried a sunset.  For the ocean I made a swirl between two very similar blues.  I like how it came out.  Some subtle contrast and just makes the sea look more realistic to me.  Then the sun sunk a little below the horizon line *sigh*  I probably should have poured it in separate batches.  I tried to wait for the soap to set up enough but the sun was just a little too heavy.

Next I tried to gradient from red to orange (or coral).  It worked, but again it’s much more subtle.  The orange overtook the red.  Overall I still really like this soap!

Relaxing calm evening :) Fresh Bamboo FO.

Wished I’d gotten a straight horizon…but overall it’s still cool.

Just another view :D

And here’s take two.  The soap (sunset part) got hard and didn’t cut as smoothly in the wire cutter (the blue and sun did fine) but the gradient I think worked a little better.  It’s a little pale right now the orange but it’s been slowly getting darker.

Take Two: Slightly better that the first version…

15 Responses to Soap Challenge #10: Landscape Soap

  1. swanee says:

    great soaps here . All of them are a success. congrats

  2. Traci R says:

    Looks great Jennifer. I really liked your second moonscape.

  3. Tina says:

    They are very appealing. Such rich colors on the sunset!

  4. Sharon Phillips says:

    Your soaps are beautiful! Love the swirls through your moon and suns!

  5. Jessie says:

    All of them are so beautiful. Great job!

  6. Erica says:

    Beautiful! I like them all.

  7. Suzy Whitten says:

    Now THAT’S a lot of time and effort and the results are gorgeous! I really like the darker first soap – it’s stunning. ~Suzy

  8. Pam says:

    How beautiful! I like the gradient effect in the second soap it speaks to me, just lovely.

  9. Carol says:

    They are all beautiful! I very much like the 2nd moon one!

  10. Margo says:

    The are all very stunning soaps. Great job!

  11. Eileen says:

    Love all of them, especially the first one. The moon looks great and yes, I do see the gradient in that one.

  12. Amy Warden says:

    So cool, Jennifer!!! Love both of them! So many color textures going on!!

  13. Amy Warden says:

    Love them both!!! So many different color textures going on. The orange & blue make a great color scheme. :)

  14. I just love your two soaps. You really dud a fabulous job, colours are lovely, x Linda

  15. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, lovely soaps, Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

