Experimenting with Gradient Soaps

I was first introduce to this soap in Challenge #7 from Amy’s challenges over on Great Cake Soapworks.  You can find my post with pictures here: GREEN GRADIENT

I love the green so much I decided to try it with other colors.  Some were successes, some not as much, but overall I learned a lot and LOVE the technique.

Pink (very very pink)

I LOVE pink. Especially BB’s Bubblegum pink…but even this bar is a bit too much pink for me :D The gradient did work well though.

Purple

Purples always worry me. Too often they look muted and I was afraid adding white to my purple would just make it look muted and not good. So I decided to just do part of the batch in gradient and then take a white and deep purple and kind of layer/swirl it for the top portion. I think it made this bar work. If I’d done a gradient all the way I really think it would have been too muted for my liking.

Gray/Periwinkle

The gray overtook the periwinkle here. Next time I’ll make the periwinkle the more dominate color.

Red/Orange

Again the red got a little lost in the orange but I still like this soap.

Blue

Overall it worked. I can’t say it’s my favorite of all the ones I tried, but it still looks cool.

Yellow

This is too muted for me. I wish it was brighter, but it worked really well as a gradient :)

And there you have it.  My experiments doing gradient with different colors.  Now the next challenge is to try a gradient with 3 colors!

3 Responses to Experimenting with Gradient Soaps

  1. Ashlee Craft says:

    Your soaps are fabulous! I love them so much!

    By the way, I pinned all of these soap photos to my Pinterest account because they’re so awesome looking. Hopefully this brings more views to your blog! :)

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thank you Ashlee!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

