Elegant soap…completely by accident :)

I had it in my head I wanted to try and make a “city scape” landscape soap.  I knew I’d make the building outlines out of black so I poured that first batch.  I’d over calculated though and had a fair amount of extra soap–all black soap!  I wanted to do something with it but didn’t know what.  I decided to split the remaining soap up and add some titanium dioxide to part of the black to get a gray and then I did an in the pot swirl and poured them into my cube mold (I’m fast falling in love with this mold :))

When I went to make my city scape (see picture below – Not quite what I was going for, but I tried it and that’s what I wanted to do) I knew I’d have enough left over soap that I could make a small 2.5 lb batch and embed the swirled cubes I’d poured the other day.  I figured since I had black and gray that white would be a good color to go with it so I made the batch white, embedded the cubes and didn’t think much of it…until the next day when I cut it.

Cityscape:

I must have been subconsciously thinking I could stamp these bars, because I unintentionally embedded them off centered.  Once I cut them I knew instantly that stamping them would look awesome.  I just adore how these came out!  I’m going to use a similar technique now to make some cherry-almond soaps! Stay tuned for those.

Pictures GALORE! Sorry, I couldn’t narrow my choices down :)

5 Responses to Elegant soap…completely by accident :)

  1. Amanda says:

    Both are beautiful! A cityscape! What a clever idea!

  2. Amy Warden says:

    Love this!!! The cityscape looks great! And of course, the embedded soap is so elegant. The stamp was a fabulous idea!!

  3. Amy Warden says:

    Beautiful soaps!!! The cityscape is just right, and the embedded soap is definitely elegant! The stamp was a fabulous idea!!

  4. Jennifer Marie Hofmann says:

    Thanks Amanda and Amy! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

