Soap Challenge #11: Natural Ingredients

Last challenge!  I think I might have withdrawals next week when I have nothing new to try!  Anyway, for this challenge I wanted to use seaweed powder…I still plan to make a batch using it, but it didn’t happen for this challenge.  I just ran out of time to get to it by the time it arrive (Thursday later afternoon) here.

What I did do was another sort of landscape soap. I know I’m slightly obsessed.  Actually this one I saw someone else had created a beach scape and I loved it.  It was gorgeous!  I’ve had this fragrance Pineapple-Cilantro for a couple weeks that I’ve wanted to use in a soap but couldn’t come up with a design for the loaf.  When I saw the beach it just screamed perfect fit.  Oh man the soap smells AMAZING and looks pretty cool too.

Okay, on to the natural ingredients.  I used tussah silk in the batch.  Can’t wait to see how this changed the properties of the bar!  And then I experimented with Apricot kernel powder and strawberry seeds to make the sandy beach.  I have to say I was really pleased with the effect.  Wasn’t sure how it would come out but it looks like sand to me!

So, now I have a silky bar that part of it will also act as an exfoliant.  I’m cool with that :)

13 Responses to Soap Challenge #11: Natural Ingredients

  1. Suzy Whitten says:

    This would be a beautiful bar to give as a gift! I have some silk that came as samples with an order – I haven’t tried it yet. Will you let me know if you felt it made a difference? I’ve read mixed reviews and am anxious to know what you think. I love the look of the strawberry seeds and apricot kernel powder in you bottom layer, it looks exactly like a sandy beach – cute pics with the shells, too ! I’ll keep visiting your blog and hope you’ll do the same. Until the next challenge!! ~Suzy
    http://www.suzysaysthis@blogspot.com

  2. Pam says:

    Jennifer such a lovely soap. A perfect beach scene!

  3. Eileen says:

    These are so pretty. I love the wave layer, both the colour and the free-form look of it. Great job.

  4. Reblogged this on Champ de Fleurs and commented:
    How wonderful do these look! looking great for summer

  5. Amy Warden says:

    So pretty!!! Such a lovely two-toned blue and sandy texture. Mission accomplished! :)

  6. Carol says:

    Very pretty! Sure looks like a beach scene to me! I love how the sand turned out-perfect!

  7. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, this is a really fabulous soap! I love the blue!

  8. Lovely soap, and beautiful beach with the sand and the different texture, love it! x Linda

  9. O says:

    Ooh looks so pretty

  10. Really pretty, love the two toned blue! I just recently tried a sample of Pineapple Cilantro and was amazed at how much I liked it. Sounds like a great scent for a beachy themed soap.

  11. This is so pretty and totally looks like a beach! What a gorgeous bar to leave for a house guest – especially if you’re lucky enough to own a beach home. ;) Gorgeous!

  12. Robin Perry says:

    GORGEOUS!!!
    Would love to have this recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

