Black and White Soap

I love black and white…pictures, room color themes, clothes and of course in soap.  There’s something about black and white that always seems to have this elegant and some what classic look to it.  Every so often I do and black and white design soap.  I had the desire to make a one of my winter soaps in black and white and the best choice seemed to be with Peppermint.  It’s clear…it doesn’t accelerate trace…and it just “fit” to me with the fragrance.

I decided I wanted to do embeds.  I made a whole bunch of different sized round batches of soap.  I did an in the pot swirl with these making them predominantly black.

Then I embedded them in a solid white batch and saved a little extra soap to mix with black to decorate the top with:

Cutting them was fun! Each one is different.  If I do this again I’ll probably make more embeds.  I think there was plenty of room to add more.

I had some left over mix after embedding the the soap in this batch so I swirled it and poured it into a mold.

Cut it the next day and embedded them into another batch :D  It was fun.  Definitely different from the first batch, but I love it as well.

One of my favorite parts of cutting ITP swirl is seeing what  I “see” in the swirls.  This time around I found the face of a super hero (wearing a mask).  Do you see it?

5 Responses to Black and White Soap

  1. leeann says:

    i want to try some tube embedding soaps but afraid to use pvc pipes. what is the best way to make them come out easily? your embeds are gorgeous and inspiring! i love black and white too and i always use Wasabi with that combo cause like peppermint it just makes sense. very popular no doubt!!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thanks.

    I let mine cure in the tube for 48 hours then put them in the oven at 200 degrees for 9-10 minutes (depends on the size, the smaller ones I do at 9). Then I have a couple different size pieces that fit into the different tube sizes that I use to push the soap out.

  3. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, Jennnifer, your soap turned out stunning! A soap to dream of…

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Mijnzeep!

  5. Jenny says:

    Black and white look so striking together! Your soaps are gorgeous – I especially love the embed soap. Peppermint is one of my all-time fave scents, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

