Seven Things You Didn’t Know About Me

Texas Pioneer Nominated me for the Beautiful Blogger Award.  Very sweet of her.  I am so lucky to have all of you who read and enjoy my blog.  I love following yours and sharing my insights, lessons learns, photos and so much more.  One of the things the Award asked the blogger to do is share seven facts about yourself that others don’t know.  And I thought this would be a perfect way to let you all get to know me a little bit better!  So here goes:

FACT 1

I was an Army Brat.  I had moved thirteen times before my eighteenth birthday.  Some of those moves included Germany and France.  In fact I spent a total of ten years (not all consecutive) of my first eighteen living in Europe.

FACT 2

I majored in architecture as an undergraduate student and worked in the field for 11 years.  I just recently had a “change” of plans in my career options.  I love the creative design element of architecture.  I love working on commercial buildings.  I hate working on houses.

FACT 3

I got my masters in Creative Writing with a focus in Children’s Literature.  I didn’t start writing  until I was in college and I fell in love with it.  It was a creative outlet for me that helped alleviate the stress a bit.  When I went back for my masters it wasn’t because I planned on using it in any way to help my career.  I just wanted to get it for me.  I wanted to have some formal education in writing.  I still hope to get published some day.

FACT 4

I teach at a local community college.  I’m an adjunct teacher.  I teach architecture related classes and English Comp classes.  That masters degree came in handy (something I never planned on putting to use for any reason, but am glad I have it now). The funny thing is: I hated writing when I was young.  It wasn’t until college that I began to like to write.  Now I teach reluctant college students to write and even occasionally get them to admit that English Comp wasn’t as bad as they were expecting and they learned something. :)

FACT 5

I speak French.  Not so fluently anymore, but I understand it and can read it well still.  When I was in 9th – 11th grade we were living in France.  There were no American bases so I had to attend a French school.  It was the best experience of my life.  It wasn’t always easy but I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

FACT 6

I’m the oldest of three.  And my parents/family say I have a Type A squared personality. I get things done.  Put me in charge of something and you know it will be accomplished.

FACT 7

I dislike all cooked vegetables except bean sprouts, corn on the cob, and potatoes.  I’m the pickiest eater.  I do like some vegetables but I’ll only eat them raw.

3 Responses to Seven Things You Didn’t Know About Me

  1. Audry says:

    I knew all those things :D

  2. Jennifer says:

    LOL as my best friend I would expect nothing less :D :D

  3. Susan says:

    Those were interesting facts. Since you lived in France, maybe you could make a soap that looks like a croissant (did I spell that right?).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

