Staying Creative!

I am creative.  It’s just a part of me.  Everyone has strengths.  I can’t sing (really! I cannot sing).  I’m not a runner (no matter how hard I try).  So, while I can’t do somethings I do embrace my creative side.  It’s part of the reason that I think I got hooked on soap making.  After I understood the basics I soon realized that I could create some pretty amazing soaps.

Every now and then though I sit there and worry what happens if I can’t come up with something new?  I think this thought has hit me now because I’m restocking on my standard soaps and I don’t change up those designs.  And some of them are “plain” (and I don’t mean that in a bad way…sometimes simplicity can be beautiful).  But I look at them and panic.  Or I sit down with my pad and pencil to sketch out a design for a new soap and my mind sees nothing but a blank page!

I’ve learned to step back and go browse the hundreds of pictures I’ve saved from other soap makers (who I admire). Or I go to my pinterest board and look through them and usually some idea is sparked.  Even so, I still worry.  I’m good at worrying.  I’m working on four new soaps for winter/valentine’s day and for days I didn’t know what to do with them.  Design…color…embeds…my mind was blank.  I know though know what I’m doing for all four soaps and I think they’re going to be awesome and look really cool!

I think this will forever be a familiar pattern in my life. Stress and worry and then come up with something cool and go phew I haven’t lost my knack for design!  I think this must be requirement for creativity though, because the same thing happens for me when I’m working on my creative writing.  And the same thing would happen when I was working in architecture.  So, I’m going to try and not worry so much and just sit back and see what 2013 brings this year for designs!  And to give myself a little inspiration I decided to post again some of my favorite soaps of 2012 (you know, for a little inspiration!)

Black Raspberry (14)

holiday-berry (5)

Bar Soaps

Straw-Rhubarb 1

BeachScape 7

BLueberry (10)

So pretty!

So pretty!

 

11 Responses to Staying Creative!

  1. Amy@10thAve. says:

    I worry about getting stuck in a rut, too, and even more than that, unconsciously copy-catting other soaper’s designs and getting a reputation for not using my own imagination.

    I love the soaps you chose for this post. They’re all so different that I wouldn’t have guessed the same soaper made them….you are definitely not creatively challenged!

  2. Chrissy says:

    I was going to say something similar to Amy’s comment above. Your soaps are so unique, and I think some customers will appreciate knowing they can get their stand-by favorites in the same scents and designs over time. Keep up the great work – I love reading your blog posts!

  3. Holly says:

    Your soaps are so fabulous! I sometimes get a block too and then in just a moment I get so many great ideas. We just have to trust ourselves that we’ll always come through. :-) I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    • Jennifer says:

      Yeah…trust :D It’s the worry that sometimes breaks through! hehe I’m excited to see what this year brings!

  4. Cee says:

    It so funny that you posted that, because I worry about the same thing too…it’s good to know I’m not alone! That is great advice for 2013, just trust that the ideas will come. Your 2012 soaps were awesome, so many creative techniques!

    • Jennifer says:

      It’s nice to hear I’m not the only one who feels this way! So excited to see what you come up with in 2013! I know it’ll be great and inspire me!

  5. Winter says:

    Love your soaps! I just ran across you looking for black raspberry ideas, I am totally in aww of your pipping! I LOVE making cupcakes but sadly they just haven’t sold locally for me very well.
    I worry the same sometimes and just like you I find other soapers ideas spur me on. I usually don’t copy to the tea but find even just looking at others gets my juices flowing again :) Also I was wondering what size tip you are piping with? I have bought like 6 and still am not satisfied. Its fine if you would rather not say :)

  6. Jennifer says:

    It’s the larger tips. Can’t remember their #s off the top of my head. I’ll try and look them up and post them.

  7. Que jabones tan bonitos!!
    y la cupcake para comérsela
    ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

