Soap Challenge #2: Elemental Swirl

I saw this challenge and instantly knew I wanted to do a gray/black/white them and a bright shades of pink theme.  The problem was I couldn’t come up with a fragrance that seem to meet the color scheme and wouldn’t 1) discolor my white and 2) move to fast for me to work with.  I ended up using Green Tea and Cucumber.  I didn’t really need MORE bars of this soap (since I just made a batch, but it’s a pretty popular fragrance so I figured I’d be able to sell them).  This turned out to be a good soap to work with.  It did thicken up the soap a little, but not enough to make it too hard to swirl.  And it made it easy to pour a second layer without breaking through the first since it was pretty firm by the time I was ready to pour the second layer!

1) I MADE A MESS making this soap :)  eight different colors and pots gets very crowded on the workspace!  I broke down and used my dishwasher to clean everything (I NEVER do that!)

mess

2) I am in LOVE with the color scheme I went with.  I didn’t leave the base color uncolored.  I added some TD to it.  I wanted a crisper white than I would have gotten if I hadn’t used color.  I’m glad I added the white, makes for a good contrast.

3) It’s this a gorgeous top??? I think it is, but I have a slight obsession with pink! :)

top

4) Final results: (Warning: Many many many pictures to come was unable to narrow down to one!)

Cucumber8

I used Black, White, Dark Gray and Light Gray for the top layer.  The two darks and two lights were very similar in color but they came out and if you know what to look for you can see all four colors. I used two bright pinks, a light pink, and white for the bottom.  The colors for them stayed pretty distinct too.  I’m really happy with it.

greentea1

greentea14

greentea

22 Responses to Soap Challenge #2: Elemental Swirl

  1. mijnzeep1 says:

    Nice constrast of colors!
    Gorgeous pink, Jennifer! And the top is so beautifully swirled!
    Natalia

  2. Marika says:

    I also love pink! :) You got very beautiful swirls in both layers. The single soap with the pink round swirl is adorable.

  3. Those turned out absolutely beautiful! LOVE! This week’s challenge was fun. I did a fire and ice theme.

  4. Eileen says:

    I love pink too, these turned out great!

  5. Suzy Whitten says:

    Love the colors – well done !!!

  6. Julia Laughlin says:

    Beautiful colors!

  7. Milla says:

    The top is gorgeous and I love your color combination. I love green tea and cucumber too! I made a mess too!

  8. Pam says:

    Very pretty color combination and swirls Jen! Did you fragrance each section differently?

  9. Shannon says:

    Loving your color combinations and the tops is simply beautiful!!!

  10. Carol-Soaplicity says:

    Love the colors-such pretty pinks!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Thank you everyone for the kind comments! I appreciate them all!

  12. How gorgeous! In your last photo, top soap I see a face! How cool is that!

  13. slfranklin says:

    Beautiful soap! Love your color choices!

  14. Amy Warden says:

    It’s fantastic!! Great color choice and the top is THE BOMB!

  15. Ruth Esteves says:

    Great choice of colors! Is that a white mica line? It really stands out. Nice job!

  16. RobertW says:

    Beautiful job! The colors remind me of a wedding.

  17. cris says:

    Love the pink and black and a beautiful top to go along with the swirls.

  18. Hi Jennifer,
    I really love your soap, the colours are fantastic. I think this is a great technique, don’t you? x Linda

  19. Jennifer says:

    Thank you everyone for your comments! I had a lot of fun with this soap and enjoyed seeing all of your creations too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

