Soap Challenge #4: Leopard Spots

I tried two different batches of this soap.  Neither one was really a success, but I learned what to do for next time I try this technique.

The first batch I did was Berrywine & Moroccan Mint.  The fragrance is awesome.  I did the body of the soap in berrywine and the spots in mint.  The problem was (even with a relatively slow moving berrywine) the mint would not thicken! I didn’t matter how much I stick blended.  So as you can see in the pics the white section just flatten out as I tried to carefully cover the spots.  It’s actually a cool looking soap.  I do like it…it’s just not what I was going for.

berrywine (6)

I dusted the top of this soap with merlot mica (which is what I used to color the base).  I like the effect.

berrywine (9)

Attempt two: Clove bud and orange. I needed to restock on this.  It’s from my standard essential oil line. I wanted to use colors that were a bit more fun, but had to stick with natural colorants.  I’m surprised the center spot isn’t darker. I did mix it with the white, but it’s got clove bud and orange EO in it! Those two are dark and always discolor!  This one I did get “spots” but I think they’re not thick enough.  They look more like two-toned clouds floating in my soap than spots!

clove-orange (1)

I love these challenges. They force me to try new things or come up with new variations on techniques I use. It’s like exercising the mind and my creativity! I hope we get more in the future!

12 Responses to Soap Challenge #4: Leopard Spots

  1. Susan says:

    The berrywine/mint actually reminds me of a caramel macchiato at Starbucks. At least that’s the way the colors are coming through on my pod. Caramel & vanilla might be an interesting soap.

  2. Cee says:

    Love the colors in the Berrywine Mint soap and Clove Bud and Orange sounds like a yummy combo, and I do see the spots in there! It’s definitely challenging to get the soap thickness ‘just right’ for these spots :)

  3. Julia Laughlin says:

    Leopards spots or not they are both beautiful! I really like this technique because it has may possibilities!

  4. Pamela says:

    Both of your soaps are beautiful and I especially like the combination in the Clove Bud and Orange. The challenges are a driving force aren’t then!

  5. Carol-Soaplicity says:

    Still very nice! Love the natural coloring.

  6. cris says:

    Both are really nice soaps. I like the floating clouds!

  7. Marika says:

    Clove bud and orange soap turned out so pretty and I can almost smell it.

  8. Maja says:

    They are both pretty,the second one has clouds,I love them!

  9. Amy Warden says:

    How cool!! I love how many variations you can do with this technique! Have the spots darkened up at all since you made the soap? They are BOTH very lovely! Thank you for participating in the challenges!!

    • Jennifer says:

      IT hasn’t darkened at all! Crazy. The stuff you want to darken doesn’t the stuff you don’t does!

  10. Adriana bencosme says:

    How do you get the soap to be rough on one side so nicely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

