Embedded Heart Tutorial

This really isn’t a hard soap to make.  It just takes two days to do.  I love embeds.  I have a patience for them that not everyone does.  I plan out my soaps in advance and then make the “parts” I’ll need to create the whole.

STEP 1: The first step in this soap is making the heart embeds.  I use this heart mold from Wholesale Supplies Plus: Heart Mold.

8022

If you fill all 8 of the small hearts it takes about 12-14 ounces.  This mold can be a pain to unmold.  I have a recipe I love to use for embeds because the bulk of the rcipe are solid oils/butters and so it makes for harder embeds, which in turn makes it easier to unmold.  I usually leave the hearts in the mold for a full 24 hours and then before I try unmolding them I stick them in the freezer for about an hour or so.

Oil(s) Selected

2lb Batch

Castor Oil

2.25 oz

Shea Butter

9 oz

Coconut Oil (76 Degrees)

6.75 oz

Olive Oil

9 oz

Palm Oil

9 oz

5% Lye Amount

4.90 oz

Water

11.88 oz

Yields

36 oz

This is a 2lb recipe.  You can shrink it to a 1lb batch if you’re just going to do heart embeds.  I am always making embeds so I use the 2lb batch.   I’ll use the leftover soap to create embeds for another project.  It just saves me time in the long run.

I don’t add a fragrance to these hearts and I use titanium dioxide to color them.  Not adding fragrance doesn’t affect the overall batch.  By not adding fragrance it ensures that I don’t get any discoloration in my nice white hearts.  Feel free though to add fragrance if you’d like.

STEP 2: Unmold hearts!

supplies

STEP 3: After I’ve made and unmolded these soaps I’m ready to make the actual loaf.  I use a five pound mold and I need four and a half hearts to get them to go the entire length.

I use this recipe for the loaf.  It’s one of my favorite moisturizing recipes, but you can use any recipe you want.  This is for a five pound batch of soap (you’ll need 4 and half hearts to fill the loaf).  In this tutorial just did a 2.5 lb batch (where I only needed two hearts).

Oil(s) Selected

5lb 

Avocado Oil

5.4 oz

Meadowfoam Oil

1.35 oz

Coconut Oil (76 Degrees)

10.75 oz

Olive Oil

21.50 oz

Palm Oil

10.75 oz

Shea Butter

5.4 oz

5% Lye Amount

7.5 oz

Water

18.15 oz

Yields

80.65 oz

STEP 4: Once you’ve mixed the oils and lye and the batch has reached a very light trace it’s time to split the batch up.  I split about a quarter of the batter out and set it aside for the top.

TIP: Unless I know I’m working with a slow moving fragrance I do not add it to the soap before I split the batch.  I’ve found by not adding the fragrance to the part I set aside it gives me more time to work with it and it makes for a more fluid soap which in return makes it easier to create nice crisp and clean lines between the two layers.

STEP 5: In the bottom layer (which should be about three-quarters of your soap) mix your color and fragrance together.  Pour it into your mold.

first layer

(I did a side view, instead of a top view) so you could see that you’ll fill approximately 3/4 of the mold.)

You can use any color you want.  The first batch I did I used a teal and gray.  I love this soap!  I didn’t have any more blackberry-sage fragrance oil on hand though so the batch you’re seeing pictures of is Orange & Amber.  I went with orange as the base color and black as the top (a little Halloween-y, but hey I like it!)

STEP 6: I let this set up a bit before I add my hearts in (unless it’s setting up fast then I put them in right away).  Next I go back to my top layer and add my fragrance and color.  Once it’s mixed together I go back to the base and add the hearts and then pour the second layer over them.

hearts embedded

I used Orange Peel in this batch.  First time I’ve used it.  If you want a slowwwwww moving fragrance this one’s for you.  I had to wait and wait and wait (despite a lot of stick blending) for this soap to set up enough to hold the heart embeds on top!

poured soap

STEP 7: If you want you can add a mica top.  I love the look of the mica tops with these soaps.  My mica top didn’t quite work out as planned.

TIP: Here’s some free advice from my trial and errors!  Don’t spritz your soap with alcohol right after doing your mica top.  And don’t spritz your top and then try and do your mica top!  The first time I tried the mica top I had a lovely swirl pattern.  Out of habit I spritzed the top and it caused the micas to migrate and mix together.  The second time I made soap with a mica top I did my mica top and then came back about 30 minutes later AFTER the oil had absorbed into the soap and spritzed.  Worked great.  No smudging…but I did get a small amount of ash on one of my tops.

So this time I decided to try spritzing it before I did the mica top in hopes of no ash.  Well, the alcohol kind creates a layer over the soap and while I was able to pour the mica on top (see pic below) when I went to swirl it it did not work!  Moral of all this, if you’re going to spritz do so only after the oil has absorbed into the soap.

mica top

Here’s the kind of sort of salvaged top.  It’s not an elegant one, but I think it kind of actually works for the orange/black theme I’ve got going!

salvage

STEP 8: I insulate my soaps. I like them to go through gel phase, but you don’t have to.  After 24 hours I unmold and cut and admire the pretty bars!

orange (1)

orange (2)

12 Responses to Embedded Heart Tutorial

  1. Maja says:

    I actually like this top! Looks so pointillistic! Great mould,Jennifer, I have made hearts using only ordinary ice tray,but this one makes it so easier. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Audry says:

    Wow, very detailed tutorial. Nice of you to share your recipes and everything :D

  3. Jeanette says:

    thanks so much for creating this tutorial and share your process.

  4. Jenny says:

    Thanks for sharing your technique, Jennifer! I tend to shy away from embeds because of the extra work involved, but I do love how your heart embeds look! I should make an extra pound of soap the next time I make a batch, separate it out, and then use it to make embeds. That way, I could make embeds and a regular batch at the same time. Two birds, one stone!

  5. Margo says:

    Jennifer what size mold are you using and on your 5 lb. loaf recipe will that do 2 loafs of soap. Thank you so much for sharing your process.

    • Jennifer says:

      I use a 5lb mold that fits BB’s 5lb silicon liners. I made my own mold (didn’t buy it from anywhere). And yeah if you split that it’ll fill two of the 2.5lb loaves (you’ll probably have a little soap left over).

      • Margo says:

        I have that same liner from BB, I love using it as the soap unmolds so easily. I also have this heart mold and I have used your embed recipe and one of my recipes for unmolding and for the life of me I cannot get the hearts out of the mold without them being distorted, I have even left them in the mold for a whole week. They just won’t get dry enough on the bottom to get hard enough to push them out. I am tempted to cut the bottom of the mold off and use saran wrap on the bottom to seal it while I pour to keep the soap from running out then when they are hard enough remove the saran wrap so they can dry out from both ends. What do you think of this idea? I have a star mold also, you ought to see how distorted they are when I unmold :(

    • The Damsels says:

      Try freezing them! I freeze them for about an hour or 2 (sometimes longer when I forget ha) and then they usually come out in tack (still takes some work to get them out but they come out usually in one piece.) Jennifer

      • Margo says:

        I even tried that, I think I will give it another try using the freezing method before I dissect my mold. Thank you.

  6. Nikki H. says:

    Thank you for the tutorial. You angel. You rock!!

  7. […] other soaps for West Point.  One was a take on my (what’s turned out to be really popular) Embedded Heart Soaps.  The other was a simple and clean soap with a mica top that I then stamped “Army […]

  8. […] my “Embedded Heart Tutorial“?  Well I’ve had a couple people say they can’t get the hearts out of the mold […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

