Trapezing

How about a little break from all these soap posts? I know this blog is mostly about soap, but occasionally I like to change it up a bit!  So…

Trapezing! (or more accurately “flying”)

I took my first class (a two hour session) years ago.  I really really liked it.  Since then I had done a class here or there (usually when I a friend was visiting.  I’d drag them along an we’d have lots of fun!).  The trapezing school by me offers these ten week intensive classes.  I really wanted to take one for a while.  I finally signed up for a class in April.  We’re nearing the end of the ten week session now and can I say I AM IN LOVE!

There is something magical and exhilarating and just plain fun about flying through the air and trying to get your body into positions it doesn’t want to ha!  My biggest goal for this class was to “catch” the pullover shoot and learn my swing (which you need to really advance on to any of the tricks after the basics).  It’s taken me five weeks but I’ve finally started to conquer the pullover shoot.  Once I got the trick the next stage was the “catch” it.

Last week (6/14): This was one of the best tricks I’ve done. Everything was right. The catchers timing (it was a different catcher from who we usually have) was off so we just touched hands.

This week (6/21): Success!

Now it’s on to working on the swing.  I’m so sad the class is ending but I’ll be back in the fall when classes resume again.

5 Responses to Trapezing

  1. Chrissy says:

    That is awesome! I’ve always wanted to do that, but I’ve never signed up. This may inspire me to try it, too!

  2. TerriLin says:

    That is amazing! I used to spend a LOT of time in Yosemite and Donnors Pass area in NoCal rock climbing and my fear was always falling to my death and splattering into a million tiny pieces like so many before me lol! When I watched your video my reaction was like “Oh no she’s doomed!” to “Oh yaaayy she did it!” I don’t know if I would be brave enough to try this. My stomach was getting a little whirly just watching but it does look super cool. You go girl!

    • Jennifer says:

      We’ve got lines on so they’ll catch us if we fall :D The hardest part the first time I did this was jumping off the platform. Once I got over that the rest is just sooooooo much fun!

  3. Cee says:

    Oh my gosh, you are so brave, and that looks so FUN!!! It must be great for your core strength.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

