Vinegar Infusions

It’s been my goal this past year to find ways to slowly replace all the “chemical” products I use in my house.  I’ve either been working on creating my own recipes for items or changed the brand of items I was buying (mainly my toothpaste!).  I’ve got a all natural deodorant I’ve been using and I really like (it’s almost ready to be launched!!).  I’ve changed my facial moisturizers.  And my next big change has been household cleaners.

I’ve been working on infusing different vinegar blends to create different scented vinegar cleaners.  My first blend was “Orange, Grapefruit, Cloves, and Cinnamon.”  It’s currently infusing.

infusion

Then at one of my events I was RIGHT across from a “Fresh Lemonade” stand.  I saw them going through soooooooo many lemons so about half way through the day I went over and asked them what they were going to do with the rinds.  They said “throw them out” so I was like can I have a box?  They gladly gave me one (and would have given me more if I wanted).

lemons

This box had about 75 lemons in it and I spent hours removing the skins from the rind. I got three crammed pack bags of rinds!  I used one bag to start four jars of infusions.  The rest went in the freezer to use throughout the summer to make more infusions.

lemon peels

Then my friend has given me free access to her “fields of mint” (and I really meant fields of mint!!!!) whenever I need it.

mint field

So lemon-mint infusions are made!  Now it’s just a matter of waiting four weeks for them to be ready!

Next on the list are to get more oranges and limes (which I have a “source” for those too).  Woohoo for resourcefulness!  Between getting the rinds from people, the herbs/mint from friends and family all I’ve had to buy to make these are the spices (cloves and cinnamon sticks), vinegar and bottles.  All in all not bad! Can’t wait to use these!

lemon-mint infusion

6 Responses to Vinegar Infusions

  1. Debbie says:

    So clever Jennifer! You can try these on my house if you’d like!!! Lol! :)

  2. TerriLin Pistorius says:

    Awesome! This year I replaced ALL of my cleaning products shampoos, lotions, lip balms,deodorants, etc with all natural non toxic stuff I make myself. Best decision I ever made. I make an all purpose cleaner with citrus rinds infused vinegar, water and alcohol (either isopropyl or vodka) and it’s the best! Cancelled my membership with Melaleuca (they’re a great eco friendly company) and never been happier.

  3. LuAnn says:

    This is really cool! I have wanted to do this, not to sell, but just to use in my house. The first thing I did was collect orange peels, which didn’t take too long, my kids love oranges! I put them in a gallon jar with vinegar and let it sit for about six weeks. I added more orange peels as I got them. I was pretty happy with the results, it made a good cleaner, but I didn’t love the smell. So I started using it in place of fabric softener, as I had read vinegar was great for that. It makes our clothes even more soft than the Downy I’ve been using for years, and they smell great from the orange peels! Thanks for the post, it’s made me want to try natural cleaners again! BTW, IS there a “good” toothpaste?

    • Jennifer says:

      I don’t do toothpaste. I found a “no bad stuff in it for you” type toothpaste that I order online now and really like.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

