Soap Crafting, by Anne-Marie Faiola

I admit I was hesitant on buying another soap book. It wasn’t that I didn’t think it would be an awesome book it was that I have a SHELF FULL of soap books (and everything in between from hydrosols to cream soap).  Every time I get into research something new I end up with a new book.  So, I was like do I need another book???  Umm…yeah I did.  :D  Let’s face it, you can never have too many books (especially if they’re good)!

I’m glad I bought the book.  It’s gorgeously presented…I wish some of the books I used when I first started soapmaking had been like this one!  The basic information is similar to many of my other books, but presented in a manner that is a bit more friendly and explains certain aspects better.  For example the fact that you NEED to melt down your palm oil.  Something I didn’t learn about until about a year into making soap and even then I stumbled on it completely by accident.

The reason you REALLY want this book on your shelves (if you don’t already have it) are for the recipes!  It’s not just different recipes, but step by step directions (with pictures) on how to do each recipe…something you’ll find most soap books lack.  There’s a wide range of recipes covering everything from coloring to using natural ingredients.

I remember when I first started out and I researched (what felt like) hundreds of recipes.  I was still learning about oils and didn’t have a clue how to formulate my own recipe.  Nor did I know how to tell if a recipe I found was good or not.  That alone led me to numerous failed batches.  This book would have been so helpful back when I was starting out.

That said, it’s still a cool book to have now, even though I don’t necessarily need all the recipes.  If nothing else it’s a nice base for me and I know how to alter the recipes to what I want so it will save me some trial and error too.  There are definitely some recipes/techniques I’m going to try…of course I’ll end up putting my own spin on some of them.

Stay tuned for future posts as I try out my take on the following recipes from the book:

  • Stained Glass
  • Cupcake Cuties (I’m finally going to try whipping some CP soap! It’s only been on my list to do for over a year :D).
  • Pumpkin IPS
  • Coconut Milk Bars
  • Calendula Cleaning Bar
4 Responses to Soap Crafting, by Anne-Marie Faiola

  1. TerriLin says:

    This is my very first soap book. I can’t say I necessarily learned anything new but I have enjoyed it so much. It is a very beautiful book. I find myself reaching for it again and again just to thumb through the pages. I’m glad I bought it.

    I definitely wish I had something like this when I first started making soap. Just trial and error and using what my mom and grandmother taught me.

    I don’t know if I will ever use any of the recipes but I’ve already patterned the look of my avocado soap after hers in the book. The tilted beer pattern looks cool too.

    Well enough of my blah blah blah …. Happy soaping Jennifer!!!

  2. Vicki says:

    Great review! I love this book – mostly for the gorgeous pictures and soapy inspiration. I have more soaping books than anyone could actually need, but I really can’t bypass a good soap book. Looking forward to seeing your take on some of the recipes in there :0)

  3. Cee says:

    It is a gorgeous book, so much inspiration! I can’t wait to see the soaps you create with those recipes Jennifer!

  4. Thanks for the review of the book, Jennifer! Be sure to share any pictures you get while playing with the recipes. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

