Goals for 2014

Now that we’re officially underway and into 2014 I’ve made a list of things I’d like to accomplish in 2014.  Some of the items on it where on my 2013 list.  I know my list might have a bit more on it than I can really accomplish, but that’s okay.  It means I’ll always have something to work on…something to push me and keep me growing as a person and a business.

1. Cream Soap

Last year I really wanted to experiment and introduce a cream soap to my line.  I just never seemed to have time to experiment.  I did however do a lot of research and reading on how to make cream soap and I’m ready to go at it this year!  I’ve got everything I need to make it, so I just need to sit down and MAKE IT!  It’s a new item and a new process and so I’m slightly intimidated by it.  :D

2. Laundry Soap

Again, a goal from last year that never quite got done.  I’ve done the research on it.  I have a couple different recipes I want to try.  I just need to jump in and make it.  It’s actually on the list of things to do in January.  So hopefully it gets done sooner rather than later!

3. Hand Balms

I stumbled on this last year.  I was using my foot balm as a hand balm (since I started trapezing).  Others have been using it too, and it dawned on my that I should work on and market a balm specifically for hands.  So it’s in the works!

4. Increase the number of products I offer to wholesale clients.

I have a couple ideas of products I want to add to my wholesale line.  I plan to get to working on them over the next couple months.  I currently offer mostly soaps (cupcakes, popsiclees) and I really want to add some bath products to the line.  Excited to get to work on those.

5. Grow the business.

Yes, it grew in 2013.  I want to grow it even more.  I hope to get to the point I initially set for myself when I started this business.  I had a three year plan.  If by the end of 2014 I’m where I set my goals when I started this business in 2012 I will be happy.

6. Continue to be creative.

I want to come up with some new designs this year.  I want to challenge myself and push myself to try new things, go outside of my comfort zone, and to be able to help inspire new and experienced soap makers.  I get so much for the soap community.  I want to be able to give something back to it.

And there you have it.  My goals for 2014.  I’m looking forward to achieving these goals.  And seeing what new things pop up during the year for me to explore and learn from.  Do you have any goals for the year? I’d love to hear them!

One Response to Goals for 2014

  1. Vicki says:

    Thanks for sharing your goals! I’m on a temporary break from the soaping business due to imminent relocation, but you’ve inspired me to think about setting some goals and putting a proper business plan in place once I’m back in the saddle :-D.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

