2015: Wholesale Convention or Conference?

I know, I know!  You probably think I’m crazy.  What the heck am I doing mentioning 2015 when we’re only fifteen days into 2014.  One aspect about running my own business is I have to plan ahead…sometimes I year in advance!  I’ve already got my calendar of events  roughed out for the year.  Yes, new events will pop up, and yes things will change, but applications are already coming out for events and I pretty much have a good idea what I’m doing for the year by the time January is over!

Anyway, back to the topic on hand.  This year I’ll be attending the Soap Conference in Arizona.  (Yay!!)  Next year it’ll be in Indianapolis, IN.  The following year, 2016, is scheduled to be help in the Northeast somewhere.  In other words…somewhere right in my backyard!!  Can’t wait to find out specifically where it’ll be held, but no matter where it’ll be (relatively) close to me!  What this means is I’m GOING to the 2016 conference.

However I want to attend a Wholesale Convention.  I’ve had my eyes on the January 2015 Convention being help in Florida.  The problem is I most likely will only be able to afford one major trip in 2015.  So, do I do the soap conference in Indiana or the Wholesale Convention in Florida.  I know if I can only do one the Florida convention will be the one I attend.  Business wise it is what I need and what will potentially bring in the most profit to my business.  I’ll miss attending the conference if it comes down to that, but choices must be made.

The upside of this, and why I decided to write about this now, is that planning on this now and thinking about it over a year in advance gives me the opportunity to possibly attend both events, depending on how the business goes this year and the decisions I make throughout the year.  I don’t know what 2014 will bring, but I know what I’d like to be able to do in 2015 and I’ll work hard on trying to make those goals achievable!

5 Responses to 2015: Wholesale Convention or Conference?

  1. LuAnn says:

    I soooo wish I could go to the conference this year! It’s kind of a bummer that space is so limited, most of the tickets have been sold. I won’t know if I can go until April, and it’s doubtful there will be any spots left. Hopefully, the HSCG will find a larger location for 2015, so more people can attend! I only got to go once, in 2012 in Portland, and I learned a ton, and had a great time meeting my fellow soapy friends! Have a great time in Tucson!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Every year I have a folder that I take $5 or so from each event I do and I set it aside in there and that’s my conference/trip fund. It’s definitely not a cheap trip but it’s oh so much fun!!

    • LuAnn says:

      That’s a great idea, I should start doing that! I am not a member yet, so it’s a little more expensive for me. But definitely worth going to!! I was very blessed in 2012, I actually won a ticket from MMS, so I only had to pay for my flight and hotel. Then I won the $500 WSP gift certificate in the raffle, which was pretty much equal to my hotel bill!! I learned so much, and met so many wonderful people! Very blessed!!

  3. Taylor says:

    Yay! I am always glad to hear of another person attending the conference in AZ. How exciting! I am actually starting to plan a few things to go.

    P.S. It is never too early to plan. Good luck and may you reach all of your goals!

  4. Taylor L. says:

    so cool! i live in the northeast and soap with my mom (I run the company. she is my little assistant) we are always so excited to try new things :) by the time 2016 rolls around i will be in high school! please email me when you find out the dates :)
    - Taylor
    taylisoaps@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

