Design ideas…

Over the next month I want to work on some new soaps.  I have to restock on standards, but I want to do some new scents for February and March. I’m going to try making a beer soap again this year.  I’m going to use Irish Tween Fragrance Oil for it.

Spicy-sweet blend of French verbena and lemon, a green Florentine iris and violet leaves, and sublime notes of Mysore sandalwood and ambergris.

Yeah…that description just made me go yes! I want to kind of do a tweed pattern design for the soap, but as of yet I’ve now quite figured out how to do it…I’ve still got some time to play around.  It will be interesting to see what I ultimately end up with.

I’ll be making some Valentine’s Day soaps too.  I’ve got a variety of fragrances to choose from.  I can’t seem to narrow it down.  I have some design ideas though.  One of course involves a heart (just not my typical design).  I’m hoping inspiration comes back once I start working on soaps again!  I’m feeling a little alone without my creative side.  It’s normally on overdrive, but lately has been quiet. :(

Possible Valentine’s Day Fragrances I might use:

  • Amazon Lily & Rain Fragrance Oil
  • Amber& Orange
  • Relaxing (A relaxing blend of French Lavender and Fir Pine, enhanced with Egyptian Jasmine and sweetened with pure Vanilla, softened with delicate Musks.)
  • Champagne Pomegranate
  • Twilight in the Woods

I also want to come up with some new all natural (essential oils and natural colorant) soaps.  I always have a hard time with these soaps.  I don’t know why, but they never seem to be anything special.  I mean they’re awesome soaps, but visually I always feel like they’re lacking.  I want to add a couple new goat’s milk soaps to my line too.  Any suggestions on essential oil blends?  Natural colorants you really like?

Techniques I’m going to attempt this year:

  • funnel pour (yes, I know, not hard to do, but I’ve avoided it mostly to date)
  • Stain glass (a variation from Anne-Marie’s tutorial in her new book)
  • Squirty Swirls (I’ll do this on a day when I have patience :D  As it’s not a “quick” design)
  • Fondue Mat Embeds
  • Petrified Rock (for my sister)
  • Dust Painting tops

Yup! That’s quite a list of things to do.  Now it’s time to get started!  Just wanted to give you guys an idea of what’s to come in the next few months.  Stay tuned!  You can be sure pictures will be coming!

4 Responses to Design ideas…

  1. Lois H says:

    I am the opposite of you in soap. My natural soaps always look and smell better than the others. There are a couple of things to be aware of when it comes to natural colors though. I have found that it seems to work better for most colors to start will oils not water. (explained here – http://cabinofbows.blogspot.com/2013/07/coloring-soap-naturally.html) With essential oils my favorite combo is lemongrass and lavender. http://cabinofbows.blogspot.com/2013/11/musical-lemon-lavender-soap.html Have fun and don’t be afraid to experiment . That is half the fun. I will tell you that it usually take more of a natural color to get a strong color, but you have the added knowledge that it is natural and not more chemicals.

  2. Anne-Marie says:

    That’s quite the ‘to-do’ list! Excited to see your finished projects. Happy soaping =)

  3. tanya says:

    I can’t wait to see what you create!

  4. The Damsels says:

    Lois, I have a lot of natural colorants! I just need to sit down and use them. :D I will!

    Anne-Marie, It’s going to be fun making all that stuff!!

    Tanya, Thanks! Pictures will be coming :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

