Soap Embed Challenge

If you know me at all you know I LOVE embeds.  Probably half the soaps I make include embeds.  They’re a lot of work, but there’s just something about the finish soaps that I LOVE!  And so I continue to use embeds.  I’ve been playing around with a new technique:Dusting Embeds.  I’m having so much fun with it.  I didn’t just make one soap for this challenge. I made a bunch.  Here are some of the soaps I made over the past two weeks:

Berry Mimosa: This soap came about because I was dying to make a soap that was gray, black, and pink.  I simply split the batch and colored one half gray and the other black and then dusted the pink embeds in white and embedded those in the middle to separate the layers.  Simple but I really like it.

berry mimosa2

Passionfruit Nectarine: This one I was experimenting with my “Micro Mica Veins” technique.  I do like the simplicity of this design.

passionfruit3

Yuzu & Grapefruit: This one was a result of having left over hearts from some other batches.  I was playing about with them and discovered that they looked cool stacked on top of each other and I just embedded them in a simple white base to make the hearts stand out.

yuzu1

Pink Sangria: All I did here was make a partial loaf of black and white. Then I sliced them into thin strips, made a new batch and embedded the strips into it.  I actually really like how it turned out!

pink sangria3

pink sangria1

This one isn’t part of the challenge since it’s got MP embeds in it, but it’s a new soap I’ve made and it’s got embeds so I’m posting pics :)

Margarita Lime: I used both CP and MP embeds in this soap.  I was trying to make it remind you of the drink with the MP ice cube look on top and the salt.  I wanted a contrast between all the green in the soap so I used brown embeds that I dusted in a dark green. I do like how the soap turned out, but I wish I’d made the brown embeds smaller.

margarita lime9

17 Responses to Soap Embed Challenge

  1. soapjam says:

    They all look really fun and cute, Jennifer! Embeds do give soaps that something extra. Good luck on the soap challenge! :-)

  2. soapjam says:

    And congratulations on being nominated by Gordana for the Versatile Blogger Award! :-)

  3. Hi,
    I’m new in the cold process and have found your website amazing, with plenty of recipes and new gr8 ideias. I’ll share it in my blog. And please feel free to visit my online store of Soaps from Brazil at:

    http://loja.fabricadearomas.com.br

  4. Jeanette says:

    love them all!
    why type of mold do you use for the hearts?

  5. mijnzeep1 says:

    Beautiful! Love the heart soap, really good done!

  6. Your embed challenge soap is really pretty.

  7. nmnannygoat says:

    You made some beautiful soaps! Very nice.

  8. Amy Warden says:

    Fantastic soaps, Jennifer!! The striped one is very tiger-like. :)

  9. Becky Kloss says:

    These are all beautiful soaps! I thought of a desert sunset when I saw the striped one.

  10. I love all of them! :)

  11. I love all four soaps! Hard to say which is my favorite but it is close between pink sangria and yuzu & grapefruit.

  12. Ruth Esteves says:

    Wow, you were really productive! Those are all so nice. I think the striped on is my favorite.

  13. Cris says:

    I really liked your heart soaps! The stripes are great as well.

  14. Janie says:

    Wow! You did make a lot of embed soaps, but all of them are so pretty. I actually plan to make a mojito soap because I have an ugly batch of blue and green from a swirl gone too thick. It has an awesome lime EO blend that should pair well with a mint soap.

  15. Wow. You really are a worker bee. They all look great. I especially like the three stacked hearts

  16. These soaps are inspiring! I think my favorite is the Passionfruit Nectarine followed by Yuzu & Grapefruit. (Don’t tell anybody else because I’m usually anti pink & purple) :)
    Andee

  17. maitriscraps says:

    Love that striped soap the best! Gorgeous soaps!

    Victoria

    http://maitribathbody.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

