Soap Conference: Arizona Part 1

I’ve finally recovered from my AZ trip (mostly). It’s amazing how much work piles up when you go away for a week. As most of you know I went out to Arizona for a week to visit with my aunt and to attend the annual soap makers conference. I had a lovely time out in Arizona, but I’m glad to be home again.

I was excited to attend the conference, especially after my experience at last years conference. It was my second conference and I can say I learned some new things, got to hand out with old friends and meet some new ones.

Let’s backtrack though and start a few days prior to the conference. My aunt lives in Tucson and I figured if I was going to be in Arizona I had to visit! The trip started off on a not so great note! At 1:30 in the morning I was rudely awoken by a phone call informing me my flight had been canceled and they’d rebooked me on a flight for Sunday. I spent the next half hour on the phone trying to get through to someone to reschedule my flight for that day. It worked out in the end. I got a later flight, just barely (and I mean barely) made my connecting flight. I arrived in Arizona exhausted, but there.

I was greeted with 100 degree temps. It was LOVELY. I love the heat. Saturday was a day to just hang out and try and stay up past 8pm. I managed to stay up that evening, but I woke up every morning between 5 and 5:30 while I was there. There was nothing I could do to make myself sleep. Three hour time changes aren’t the most fun!

Sunday we went to Saguaro National Park. I got to learn more about the history of Tucson, it’s landscape, clime, and habitat. I saw a baby javelina and (yes I realize this makes me geeky) see a jojoba plant. Yes, that excited me greatly. I love jojoba oil and use it in my products.

saguaro 10

Monday we went to Sabino Canyon. We took the trolley up the canyon and walked back down, enjoying the natural beauty of the canyon. We had a nice picnic lunch and then it was time to head to the hotel for the conference.

Sabino 1

Sabino 14

One Response to Soap Conference: Arizona Part 1

  1. Debbie Miller says:

    Great pictures Jennifer! Glad to see you enjoying yourself & having a little time off! Bet the conference was great too! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

