Soap Conference: Arizona Part 2

Once I arrived at the hotel I got settled into my room with my two awesome roommates (Jesse and Sister Hope). Registration was at 4 and the first part of my soap exam was at 6. I KNEW the information that was on the advance exam. I’ve been making soap for almost five years now. I’ve read, studied, and continued to expand my knowledge on soapmaking. And despite all this I was still nervous. :D I stressed over whether I’d know the answers.

When I got into the test I went through all twenty questions in ten minutes. I went back to reread and double check all my answers. All that stressing for nothing :) Tuesday morning I learned I passed the multiple choice section of the exam. I had to wait till Wednesday afternoon to learn if I’d passed the second part (making my own soap). I have to say I really like the recipe I created. I used Shea butter in almost all my soaps, but I have a couple customers who are allergic to shea. The recipe I created was formulated for them. I used cocoa butter in place of shea. I altered some of the percentages of the oils I used and the end result was a really creamy bar that had small bubbles, but still lots of lather. I love washing my hands with it. They feel silky every time after I use it!

I’m happy to say I’m now an advanced certified CP/HP soapmaker! I’ll do the MP tests this year, just because. I figured I’m teaching classes on both MP and CP that I might as well get the certification for them. And maybe one day in the future I’ll start working on the Master certification. Okay, maybe not “maybe” but probably :) You know me. I want to be the best I can be at my craft and I think the Master test will push me even further.

certification2

2 Responses to Soap Conference: Arizona Part 2

  1. mac152013 says:

    Congratulations! Last paragraph spelling error… “Happy to say I’m NoW instead of noT”. Oops!

    >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

