Black Amber & Lavender

Some soaps just work perfectly.  I pretty much new what I wanted to do with this soap the instant I read the fragrance name.  Black and purple…it just made sense.  The heart bit came a little later. I wanted to add some white to brighten it up a bit.  I thought the white embed would pop with the black and purple.  Just love this soap.

Black Amber and Lavender: Deep and sophisticated this fragrance blends rustic Amber with bold Parisian Lavender. Combined with these main scents is a mysterious Black Myrrh, dulcet vanilla Tonka bean, and a splash of Egyptian Musk. The fragrance is rounded out with a surprising addition of raw Clary Sage resulting in an earthy concoction with hints of sweetness and pleasing floral notes.

Black Amber (5)

Black Amber (6)

Black Amber (9)

There are only a limited number of these available.  You’ll find them in the store the end of March!

Day after cutting: This soap was really soft. I didn’t cut it till 48 hours after I made it.  I didn’t discount the water (not sure why I normally always do) and I used a full 4oz of FO for a 5lb batch…which I don’t normally do.  So there was extra water/liquid in it than I normally have.  Now the outside is getting a layer of ash. I know it’ll wash off after a couple uses but it doesn’t look as pretty.  Oh well, still smells good and I’m sure it’ll find some good homes.  Just frustrating.  I only seem to have this problem with ash when I have soft batches…

black-amber (4)

9 Responses to Black Amber & Lavender

  1. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, love it! So beautiful!

  2. Chrissy says:

    That is really beautiful! I had a Mardi Gras soap I was super excited about that turned out soft and is pretty ashy now, too. Sometimes I try to steam off the ash, but it can be a pretty time-intensive process!

    I love the colors and the embeds – great job!

  3. How pretty! The white really did make it pop and love the layered black and purple!

  4. Love the cute little embedded heart! =)

  5. The Damsels says:

    Thanks everyone! I really liked this one too. And the fragrance is really unique! Love it it all!

  6. Jenny says:

    Beautiful soap, Jennifer! I love the black and purple together, and the white heart embed does pop against the dark colors. I like to use steam to quickly and easily get rid of soda ash.

  7. The Damsels says:

    I’ve never tried steam. How do you do it? I’m not sure if it’ll work…it’s a thicker more cake-y kind of ash. So frustrating…but I’m willing to try anything if I can remove the ash 🙂

    • Chrissy says:

      I just get some water boiling in a pot in the kitchen until a nice, thick steam is generated. Then I use paper towels to hold the non-ashy part of the soap, because it gets slippery, and then I hold the ashy part over the steam for a few seconds to a half-minute or so. I check often, because I don’t want to steam away too much soap, and then I put it on a baking rack nearby to dry while I steam the rest. If the ash is not completely gone, I steam some more. I really like the shiny and smooth texture of the soap that has been steamed – I think it looks pretty cool.

      I heard you can also use the steam from an iron, but I haven’t been able to make that work 😦

Leave a Reply

