Essential Oil Blends: Suggestions?

I admit it!  I’m not good at blending essential oils.  Partly because I’m too picky, partly because so many essential oils give me headaches I just avoid them.  What I’m looking for are some suggestions on different essential oil blends.  I’ll create a list of some I use (and love) and then I’d love to hear some of your favorites and I’ll create a list of those here too.  It can be a kind of reference place for everyone.

Side Note: I cannot go near geranium.  I’m extremely allergic to that EO.  It’s not pretty when I’m around it!  Also, I can’t do lemongrass.  Not sure why, but lemongrass and I just don’t get along!

Jennifer’s Blends:

  • Clove Bud & Orange (1/2 ratio)
  • Cinnamon, Clove, Orange, Lemon (1/1/3/2 ratio)
  • Anise & Peppermint (2/1 ratio)
  • Spearmint & Eucalyptus (2/1.5 ration)
  • Orange, Lemon & Pink Grapefruit (1/1/1 ratio)
  • Rosemary, Lavender, & Peppermint (2/1/1 ratio)
  • Tea Tree & Lavender (2/1 ratio)
6 Responses to Essential Oil Blends: Suggestions?

  1. Lois Harris says:

    I love lavender with a little lemon. It is wonderfully fresh and clean smelling.

  2. jo says:

    What a great idea!!! I am so hopeless when it comes to scents, possibly as my sense of smell went awol a while ago!
    I love cinnamon and nutmeg combined…I think last time I was just finishing a bottle of cinnamon so it worked out as just under 1:1 cinnamon:nutmeg., but pretty well any ratio of these two makes me happy!

  3. Marieke says:

    I can’t help you here. I prefer EO’s over PO’s but I either use a single smell or just pour 2-3 different EO’s directly into the soap batter. Just sniffing and then I decide it might need a bit more of this or that. The other day I accidently managed to form a smell that was almost exactly like the PO milk oat & honey. I used ceder, juniper and a hint of cinnamon.

  4. Vicki says:

    Peppermint with Rosemary always goes down well for me – I call the soap Wake Up! as it’s a great one for the morning shower – quite zingy 🙂

  5. anne-marie says:

    So many great blending options. Some of my top favorites are Lavender + Patchouli; Lavender + Orange; Lemongrass + Peppermint; Spearmint + Patchouli; Rose Geranium + Ylang Ylang

  6. Donovan says:

    Patchouli oil is my favorite thing ever, but it has to be done right. Popular trends lead to an accompanying citrus oil. I’m not about that lifestyle. Patchouli/cinnamon? That’s sexy. I’m also a sucker for lavender/chamomile/ginger.

Leave a Reply

