Landscape Challenge: Field of Sunflowers

I love sunflowers.  My mom plants them in her yard every year.  As I was looking for some new fragrances to try I came across one called sunflower.  I thought it’s the dead of winter (and we were in the middle of our THIRD massive snow storm here in New England).  I was ready for spring to come. So I purchased the fragrance.

I didn’t know what to do with it though so I went online and searched “sunflower” hoping to come up with some ideas.  Came across this photo:

field_of_sunflowers_kentucky

And I thought it’s be really cool if I could create a field of sunflowers!  The only way I could figure out how to do it realistically was to pipe them (so much work, but so worth it).

The first layer is brown with coffee grinds in it to create the speckled dirt layer.  Then I created the field of “grass” and “stems” and “leaves” by using three different greens and swirling them.  Then I piped the sunflowers on top.

This was the result: Field of Sunflowers

FieldSunflowerssunflower5

sunflower16

sunflower8

sunflower20

sunflower2

sunflower13

Alternate Field of Sunflowers

The first layer is brown with coffee grinds in it to create the speckled dirt layer.  The difference in this one is I only swirled two greens and made actually “stems” and “leaves” in the dark green.

It’s a little more realistic.  I like the first version better.  There’s something about the abstractness of it I just love, but this one is still really pretty too.  I’m not as happy with the yellow on this one.  It got a little too dark for my liking, but if you didn’t have it to compare to the first I probably would have been happy ha!

SunflowerField1

SunflowerField3

SunflowerField6

 

 

13 Responses to Landscape Challenge: Field of Sunflowers

  1. Natalia says:

    Wow, gorgeous, Jennifer! So perfectly done!

  2. jjbaze says:

    Love this soap,

  3. Ahh, what a beautiful soap. I love your idea and colors. Congrats well done 😊

  4. Jackie says:

    What a cute idea! They look great 🙂

  5. merrydaysoaps says:

    Sunflowers make me incredibly happy and so does your soap!

  6. These are stunning, such a clever idea and so many different techniques used in the execution. Really well done. 🙂

  7. I love this. Immediately made me want to have a go but I’m rubbish at piping. It’s a great idea and it looks great 🙂

  8. Cris says:

    What a nice way to finish off the field of sunflowers with the piped soap!

  9. Amy Warden says:

    Love your vision for this soap!! The piped sunflowers are amazing!! I kinda like the leaves & stems… 🙂

  10. Very creative. Well done.

  11. anne-marie says:

    The sunflowers are so beautiful. Makes me feel ready for summer =)

  12. mkinney2015 says:

    I love this soap!

Leave a Reply

