Testing: Lip Scrubs

I was back at it experimenting in February!  I wanted to make a lip scrub in November when the temps started to drop and I felt like my lips could use a little “extra something.” Of course NOTHING gets done between October and December. I’m too busy just trying to keep up with my shows and restocking product to have two minutes to play around with something new.

I did a bunch of research looking into lip scrubs.  I came to the conclusion that I basically had three options:

  • Oil and butter mix
  • All oil
  • All butter

I then created recipes from that.  I decided which butters/oils I wanted to use and at what percentage and set about testing.

I ended up creating 4 recipes.  Two were oil/butter mixes.  I was testing out different combinations of oil to butter ratios. Then I tried one all oil and one all butter.  I definitely like the mixed ones best.  Still waiting on feedback from some my testers to see where their preference lies, but on the whole the butter/oil combo was the favorite.

Oil and Butter Combo: I like this best because it’s semi-solid. Solid enough to stay in place in the jar but easy to scoop out.

lipscrub3

All Oil: Too messy for me.  It works great, but harder to apply and more messy all around.

lipscrub2

All Butter: There was absolutely nothing wrong with this version I just didn’t like it.  It was easy to scoop out, easy to put on, no mess, but it just lacked something to me. (Still hardening in this picture.)

lipscrub5

Interested in trying out the lip scrubs?  Check them out here!

            lip

Leave a Reply

