Double Embed Technique

This was the second soap I did for the Saponifier Challenge.  They call it am “Embedded Circle” technique, but I really think it should be called a double embed.  That’s really what it is.  You’re creating one embed and then embedding it into a batch then taking that new soap and embedding it AGAIN into another batch.

I’ve done double embeds many times before.  It’s a massive amount of work for a bar of soap!  That said I love the technique.  I will usually only do it on limited edition soaps (because it is so much work).  When I saw this as a challenge I knew right off I’d be adding my own twist. I had a fragrance called “Seaside Escape” that I had been sketching out different designs for, but hadn’t settled on one I really liked.  The only thing I knew was I wanted a nautical theme.  The challenge kind of solidified everything for me.

Step 1: First I had to make a batch of swirled soap in a circular mold.  I went for a subtle mix of blues/greens that made me think of the ocean.

cutters

Step 2: I had these mini ocean themed cookie cutters.  The problem was that they were only 1/2″ deep.  I had to take the circle embed I made and cut them in my soap cutter twice (so that they were 1/2″ deep and then I had to cookie cut EACH SOAP!  Tedious.

part 2b

Step 3: Next I embedded all the pieces into a cube mold I had and poured a white soap around the cut outs.

cut

(Sorry this isn’t the best picture.  I cut open one of the cubes, so you could see how the white soap filled in around my circles.)

Step 4: Once I unmolded the cubes I put them into a loaf mold and then made a new batch of teal soap to pour around the cubes. I had to do a mica top on it! You all know how much I love that technique.

mica top embeds

The end result:

Seashell (22)

Seashell (57)

Seashell (59)

Totally worth it, but a three day process to make this soap and a lot of work to prep each stage.

5 Responses to Double Embed Technique

  1. jjbaze says:

    AWESOME, thank you for sharing your technique in making the soap.

  2. Reblogged this on Central Valley Soap and commented:
    This is really cool. I love the creativity here. To bad I can really see what Jennifer was talking about and this being very tone consuming and labor intensive.

  3. What a great job you have done – they are beautiful! Well done & congrats 😊

Leave a Reply

