Cocktails by the Pool

Oh my word! This soap was a PAIN to make.  But you all know me.  Once I get an idea in my head I pretty much can’t let it go until I try it.

Cocktails by the Pool: Top Notes: Sparkling Lemon, Honeydew, Pear. Middle Notes: Vibrant Orange, Pineapple, Nectarine. Base Notes: Lily of the Valley, Jasmine, Sandalwood, Vanilla.

Here’s the pretty soap!

cocktailsbypool

cocktails

Available on my webpage!

Here’s all the behind the scenes it took to make this soap!  It’s safe to say that this is a one time design and you’ll likely never see it again (but then again now that the mold is made…)

First, I had to make a silicon mat imprint of the sea creatures/shells.  This was not an easy process and what I ended up with was far from perfect.

I made MP piece of the shapes.
2016-04-18 11.35.15

Then I had to get them to stay attached to the bottom of freezer paper so I could pour a flexible silicon over them to create a reversed mat imprint.

2016-05-03 10.39.06

As you can see some of the silicon seeped under the MP piece (even though I did tape them down).  They were a pain to get out (and that’s putting it nicely).

2016-05-03 15.04.03-1

When it was all said and done I had an imprint mat, but it wasn’t clean or perfect.

2016-05-03 15.14.17

Second, I then had to pour CP soap into the mold.  Once that harden up I made a new batch of soap the next day and made my loaf (in this case a tiger swirl).

2016-05-08 10.46.31

Then I also make MP pieces to place on top of the mold so I’d have sea shapes on the top and bottom.

embeds

2016-05-08 17.02.56

Here’s the soap once I unmolded.  Imprints on both the top and the bottom.  The CP imprints aren’t perfect, but overall I think it’s cute enough.

2016-05-12 09.08.02

2016-05-12 09.07.47-1

2016-05-09 14.58.46

Way too much work!  That’s all I can say about this soap!

Leave a Reply

