Planning a Baby Shower…

If you remember last April (I know that was a long time ago) I planned the Bridal Shower for my sister around a sunflower theme. Well this November I was once again in charge of shower planning. This time for a baby shower. Yup, I’m gonna be an aunt again (December 25 due date).  I keep giving my sister grief that she had to pick the BUSIEST time of the year for me ;).  Every weekend is booked with shows and basically I couldn’t get there.  What I did…I found someone to help cover my event on Saturday so I could drive down to PA on Friday night, do the shower on Saturday and then drive home Saturday night in time for my Sunday event.  Exhausted doesn’t begin to cover how I was feeling on Monday!

But, it was worth it.  I don’t know how party planners do it.  It’s exhausting!  Maybe my OCD and Type A personality don’t help things…control freak has been used a time or two to describe me ha!  But it’s so worth it. The outcome was absolutely adorable.  I went with a Safari/Jungle theme (since we didn’t know if it was a boy or girl).  And when I do a theme…I do a theme :D.

Everything from the food tags, the gift bags, games, and decorations fit a theme.  Check it out. Pictures describe the event so much better than words ever will!

Decorations:

decorations6

decorations7

decorations11

decorations12

decorations27

decorations28

Centerpieces:

 

 

 

decorations2

decorations1

decorations26

decorations8

decorations15

Family:

family3

img_3008

Food:

decorations9

decorations10

Some ducks just didn’t want to stay afloat!

decorations19

decorations20

decorations22

decorations23

decorations24

decorations30

Cake: This cake came out better than I hoped for and made me do happy dances all day every time I saw it.decorations_cake

Favors:

safari1

I saved the favors for last, because I am beyond proud of them!  I worked my tail off on these.  48 favors took me about 10 hours to make.  So incredibly labor intensive, but oh they were worth it.  I learned a few things to do and not do along the way, so I could cut down on the time a bit in the future, but overall these are not easy to make.  I created five animal soaps: Lion, Tiger, Zebra, Giraffe, and Gorilla.  The lion and the giraffe are my favorites, but I love them all, especially together. (Tomorrow I’ll have blog post on all the steps it took to just create these cute fellas).

And this is what happens when your brother-in-law gets hold of your camera :P. Ha!

zachisreallysilly

Leave a Reply

