12 in 12 March

It’s time for March’s 12 in 12!  If you’re wondering what this all about check out my very first post for more information!  The basic gist of it is:

Each month document your soaping/bath product making in 12 pictures. One picture MUST be taken on the 12th of the month (even if you’re not doing anything soap related).  Create a blog post of your 12 pictures (with a one or two sentence explanation) and post it at the end of each month.

What did March shape up to be like?  Well take a look and see!

March 1st: Mica Tops

I love Mica tops.  I do them on the majority of my soaps.  They just add a little something extra in my opinion and people always comment on how pretty it is.  I’ve a lot of soap to make and you’ll be seeing more soap pictures in March.  I barely made soap in February so now I’m making up for lost time (so to speak).

March 3rd: New England Local Chapter

As I think many of you know I have helped get the Local New England Chapter started.  I’m currently the Secretary for our local chapter!  If you’re in the New England area I hope you’ll join us for all the fun stuff to come!!  And if you’re in the New England area and not a member of the Soap Guild you should totally become a member :D.  Marilyn (the president of the Local Chapter) and I put together a survey that went out to all New England members.  We were looking to see what everyone wanted.  I’ll be very interested to see the results!

March 4th: Winter Farmers Market

I don’t really do many markets in the winter, but I have two in March, both local Winter Farmers Markets.  I have a smaller set up than normal, but there’s still lots of goodies to be found!

March 5th: Reverse Imprint

I have become slightly obsessed with the reverse imprint.  I made two batches and then I couldn’t help myself and I went and made another (not pictured here).  Then I decided I needed to to a rainbow…and so I’m going to make seven different batches with reverse imprints–all that so I can take a picture of the soaps together  :D!  But that aside the reverse imprints really are fun!

March 6th: Soap that Goes Wrong!

When you’re pretty teal and white soap design turns yellow, green, and brown (not in the picture, but as the soap has cured this month it’s gone brown). SIGH. It smells good, but I can’t say it’s a very pretty soap.

March 10th: Research!

Pulled out all my notes from a few years ago when I was reading about and experimenting with deodorants.  I had three different recipes and I can’t say I loved any of my three…they all had their issues.  I’ve been asked more and more about it so I’m, going back to the drawing board to try reformulating it and finding something I like and think my customers would like.

March 14th: New England Blizzard

I’m totally done with the snow.  I’m ready for warm weather.  Hopefully this was the last storm of the season…if it was it was a doozy! Over 12″ of wet heavy snow. So much fun to shovel :P.  I got a lot of packaging done while I holed up inside keeping warm.

March 15th: Custom Favors

Aren’t these spring themed cupcakes so cute!  They’re for another wedding shower this April.  I just love the pastel colors.

March 17th: Hand Balms

Not only have I had soaps to get caught up on but other bath products. I had a couple of marathon days where I made bubble bath, body butters, and balms.  Here are a 108 hand balms poured that will now need labels.  Oh the fun!

March 21st: Neon Soap

I haven’t used Neons in soap in ages and oh my I love them!  These soaps just make me smile–so bright and fun!

March 25th: Foot Balms & Lip Scrubs

Still catching up on bath products.  Today was a busy day of foot balms and lip scrubs among other things.

March 29th: Dry Balls (Stage 3)

I started these in February and then put them off.  This month I made sure I finished them.  I finished wrapping the balls mid March then covered them in colored wool.  This picture is before their first wash/felting and then after the wash as I undid them from the nylon.  I absolutely hate that stage. Oh my word! My hands hurt so much after doing them.  I still question WHY I make them and why I don’t charge more. I’ll felted them a second time and then they have to be packaged into sets!

Well there you have it.  Another month in my soapy life :D.  If you’ve done a 12 in 12 too please link back here in the comments! I’d love to see what kept you busy this month :).

2 Responses to 12 in 12 March

  1. Vicki says:

    I need to do this! I may be a little late posting but I’ll get it done in the next few days and link back to you here. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

