2017 Soap Conference

Another soap conference has come and gone!  I wasn’t supposed to be attending this one (I’m pretty much on an every other year schedule for conferences), but because of a generous friend and my parents I got to attend. A big heartfelt thank you to them!

I wanted to attend this conference for a couple reasons. First, we were introducing the new Expert Test (and revised levels for the the Basic, Advanced, Masters). I was a part of the committee that worked on revamping the tests.  Lots and lots of hours of work went into this.  I mean hours upon hours of all volunteered time.  It was a great experience and I’m glad I got to be a part of it.  I’m really proud of the work that the committee did and I think we have 4 solid tests that will help soap makers truly learn and grow as they complete them.

The second reason I wanted to be at the conference was because we started Local Chapter groups and I wanted to be able to meet with our little New England division and start to get ideas for what to do and how to move forward with this! It was great to meet local soap makers and Marilyn and I will be working on putting together “stuff” (I know that’s still vague :)) for our fellow New England Soapers!

The conference was held in Vegas this year.  It started off a little rough.  I found out my connecting flight was canceled when I landed in Kansas City. The rescheduling meant another connecting flight, a lot of waiting in the airport, and some stress about late planes and making connecting flights.  I just remained positive through it all. There wasn’t anything I could do or control about it other than my attitude.  I arrived in Vegas eventually.  Luckily the flight home went much smoother!

 

I passed my Advances MP Soap test (so glad that’s out of the way.  I didn’t really need MP…it’s not something I do as I’m totally a CP soap girl…but you know me…never satisfied with just being “basic” at everything so I needed to change that pin on my badge ;).

There were some great speakers and classes I really enjoyed.  My favorites had to be Anne-Marie Faiola’s Key Note Speech and Kerri Mixon’s talk on making lye from scratch.  I’m looking forward to reading Anne-Marie’s new book Live Your Best Day Ever.  Soap Queen was the blog that really truly got me going with soap making and taught me so so much back in 2009-2010 when I first started making soap.  I’ve wanted to meet Anne-Marie for years and I finally got the chance this conference!

It was a busy schedule!  My night’s were unexciting as I was in bed by 9PM most nights…but in all fairness I was up at 3am/4am almost every morning.  Stuck on Eastern Time ;).  I was glad I got to attend this year.  I went home with some new knowledge and some new plans to implement for my business.  Overall, I’d say it was a successful learning trip!  And you know if didn’t hurt that I got to talk about soap for three days straight and no one once told me to “shut up.” 😉

And some total randomness…we (a friend and I) were in the store getting some water when I walked pass these candy bars and burst out laughing.  So, I just had to share!

6 Responses to 2017 Soap Conference

  1. Debbie says:

    It was so much fun to spend so much time with you at the conference Jennifer! Just shows we can talk soap forever + never get bored! So glad you had a great time too + passed that test!👍👍👍 Looking forward to our New England Chapter + meeting more soapers! Best of luck with your upcoming season + look forward to seeing you again soon! 😻🐾🐾❤

    • Jennifer says:

      Me too! Hopefully we can form a good group up here. I need to find someone who knows how to make liquid soap and get some lessons 😉

  2. Vicki says:

    Oh I’d so love to go – bit of an expensive trip from the UK though 😆 Looks like you had a great time 😍

Leave a Reply

